Early day motion 1411

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that since 1997 there have been nearly 200 published studies into the harmful effects on animals of recreational drugs, such as ecstasy (MDMA), cannabis, cocaine and amphetamines; is concerned that these studies included animals being subjected to lethal doses, electric shocks, loud noise, repeated abdominal injections and brain surgery; is further concerned that much of this animal research duplicates findings obtained from human studies; further notes that much of the animal research is funded through Government support for universities or Medical Research Council grants and centres; calls for the Government to stop granting licences for harmful experiments on animals to investigate the effects of recreational drugs; and urges the Government to reallocate funding to safe and ethical volunteer studies in humans, improving drug rehabilitation facilities and those individuals struggling with their addictions, providing information resources to prevent drug abuse and supporting facilities for families living with the consequences of drug abuse.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 85

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 85 out of 85

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Amess, David Conservative Party Southend West 15.05.2007
Anderson, Janet Labour Party Rossendale and Darwen 14.05.2007
Austin, John Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 23.07.2007
Baker, Norman Liberal Democrats Lewes 02.05.2007
Binley, Brian Conservative Party Northampton South 08.10.2007
Breed, Colin Liberal Democrats South East Cornwall 08.05.2007
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 02.05.2007
Brown, Lyn Labour Party West Ham 16.05.2007
Bruce, Malcolm Liberal Democrats Gordon 11.06.2007
Buck, Karen Labour Party Regent's Park and Kensington North 08.10.2007
Burgon, Colin Labour Party Elmet 08.10.2007
Burstow, Paul Liberal Democrats Sutton and Cheam 13.06.2007
Cable, Vincent Liberal Democrats Twickenham 10.05.2007
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 08.10.2007
Challen, Colin Labour Party Morley and Rothwell 04.06.2007
Clapham, Michael Labour Party Barnsley West and Penistone 10.05.2007
Clegg, Nick Liberal Democrats Sheffield Hallam 08.10.2007
Cohen, Harry Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 16.05.2007
Conway, Derek Conservative Party Old Bexley and Sidcup 08.05.2007
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 08.05.2007
Davies, Quentin Conservative Party Grantham and Stamford 07.06.2007
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 08.05.2007
Donaldson, Jeffrey Democratic Unionist Party Lagan Valley 19.10.2007
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 02.05.2007
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 24.05.2007
Farrelly, Paul Labour Party Newcastle-under-Lyme 08.10.2007
Featherstone, Lynne Liberal Democrats Hornsey and Wood Green 24.05.2007
Foster, Michael Jabez Labour Party Hastings and Rye 08.05.2007
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 03.05.2007
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 02.05.2007
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 14.05.2007
Heppell, John Labour Party Nottingham East 11.10.2007
Holmes, Paul Liberal Democrats Chesterfield 09.05.2007
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 09.05.2007
Horam, John Conservative Party Orpington 14.06.2007
Horwood, Martin Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 08.10.2007
Howarth, David Liberal Democrats Cambridge 11.06.2007
Hoyle, Lindsay Labour Party Chorley 09.05.2007
Hunter, Mark Liberal Democrats Cheadle 08.05.2007
James, Sian C Labour Party Swansea East 16.05.2007
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 08.05.2007
Jones, Martyn Labour Party Clwyd South 11.06.2007
Keen, Alan Labour Party Feltham and Heston 08.10.2007
Keetch, Paul Liberal Democrats Hereford 08.10.2007
Kramer, Susan Liberal Democrats Richmond Park 15.06.2007
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 11.06.2007
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 08.05.2007
Lepper, David Labour Party Brighton Pavilion 09.05.2007
Love, Andrew Labour Party Edmonton 08.10.2007
Mackinlay, Andrew Labour Party Thurrock 15.10.2007
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 10.05.2007
Marshall-Andrews, Robert Labour Party Medway 08.10.2007
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 10.05.2007
Mates, Michael Conservative Party East Hampshire 05.07.2007
McCafferty, Chris Labour Party Calder Valley 12.06.2007
McCarthy, Kerry Labour Party Bristol East 02.05.2007
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 08.05.2007
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 08.05.2007
Mercer, Patrick Conservative Party Newark 17.10.2007
Morley, Elliot Labour Party Scunthorpe 25.06.2007
Mudie, George Labour Party Leeds East 06.06.2007
O'Hara, Edward Labour Party Knowsley South 15.05.2007
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 08.10.2007
Pelling, Andrew Conservative Party Croydon Central 25.07.2007
Pound, Stephen Labour Party Ealing North 08.05.2007
Price, Adam Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 02.05.2007
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 11.06.2007
Robinson, Geoffrey Labour Party Coventry North West 08.10.2007
Rogerson, Dan Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 24.05.2007
Salter, Martin Labour Party Reading West 15.10.2007
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 08.05.2007
Scott, Lee Conservative Party Ilford North 05.06.2007
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 14.05.2007
Stewart, Ian Labour Party Eccles 16.07.2007
Streeter, Gary Conservative Party South West Devon 04.07.2007
Taylor, David Labour Party North West Leicestershire 09.05.2007
Turner, Desmond Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 17.07.2007
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 09.05.2007
Wallace, Ben Conservative Party Lancaster and Wyre 06.06.2007
Webb, Steve Liberal Democrats Northavon 10.10.2007
Widdecombe, Ann Conservative Party Maidstone and the Weald 21.06.2007
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 08.05.2007
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 14.05.2007
Willott, Jenny Liberal Democrats Cardiff Central 26.06.2007
Younger-Ross, Richard Liberal Democrats Teignbridge 08.10.2007