Early day motion 1409

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House welcomes the British Heart Foundation's (BHF) 30 Mins a Day campaign, which aims to encourage people over 50 years to invest in their health and well-being by getting active; notes that inactivity is responsible for around 20 per cent. of coronary heart disease, the UK's biggest killer, as well as raising the risk of other life-threatening diseases; further notes that physical inactivity directly costs the NHS more than £1 billion every year; recognises that just 30 minutes of moderate physical activity at least five times a week can halve the risk of heart disease; supports the view that whilst personal action is key to raising physical activity levels among this age group there are a number of policy measures that can support older adults in becoming more active; and joins the BHF and the National Coalition for Active Ageing in calling on the Government and local authorities to ensure that helping people over 50 years to get active becomes a higher priority.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 115

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 115 out of 115

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Amess, David Conservative Party Southend West 10.05.2007
Anderson, Janet Labour Party Rossendale and Darwen 14.05.2007
Atkins, Charlotte Labour Party Staffordshire Moorlands 17.05.2007
Berry, Roger Labour Party Kingswood 10.05.2007
Borrow, David S Labour Party South Ribble 10.05.2007
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 03.05.2007
Breed, Colin Liberal Democrats South East Cornwall 08.05.2007
Bryant, Chris Labour Party Rhondda 10.05.2007
Burgon, Colin Labour Party Elmet 15.05.2007
Burstow, Paul Liberal Democrats Sutton and Cheam 03.05.2007
Cable, Vincent Liberal Democrats Twickenham 10.05.2007
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 09.05.2007
Clapham, Michael Labour Party Barnsley West and Penistone 10.05.2007
Clegg, Nick Liberal Democrats Sheffield Hallam 15.05.2007
Cohen, Harry Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 16.05.2007
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 10.05.2007
Conway, Derek Conservative Party Old Bexley and Sidcup 08.05.2007
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 22.05.2007
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 08.05.2007
Curry, David Conservative Party Skipton and Ripon 10.05.2007
Davies, Dai INDEPENDENT Blaenau Gwent 09.05.2007
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 14.05.2007
Devine, Jim Labour Party Livingston 24.05.2007
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 08.05.2007
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 09.05.2007
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 13.06.2007
Donaldson, Jeffrey Democratic Unionist Party Lagan Valley 23.05.2007
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 09.05.2007
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 10.05.2007
Ennis, Jeff Labour Party Barnsley East and Mexborough 17.05.2007
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 08.05.2007
Farrelly, Paul Labour Party Newcastle-under-Lyme 09.05.2007
Field, Mark Conservative Party Cities of London and Westminster 15.05.2007
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 17.05.2007
Foster, Don Liberal Democrats Bath 10.05.2007
Foster, Michael Jabez Labour Party Hastings and Rye 08.05.2007
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 09.05.2007
Fraser, Christopher Conservative Party South West Norfolk 04.06.2007
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 02.05.2007
Gibson, Ian Labour Party Norwich North 08.05.2007
Gidley, Sandra Liberal Democrats Romsey 14.05.2007
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Sparkbrook and Small Heath 22.05.2007
Hamilton, David Labour Party Midlothian 21.05.2007
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 08.05.2007
Harris, Evan Liberal Democrats Oxford West and Abingdon 18.05.2007
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 14.05.2007
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 09.05.2007
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 10.10.2007
Hermon, Lady Ulster Unionist Party North Down 08.05.2007
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 09.05.2007
Hoyle, Lindsay Labour Party Chorley 09.05.2007
Hunter, Mark Liberal Democrats Cheadle 08.05.2007
Iddon, Brian Labour Party Bolton South East 08.05.2007
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 20.06.2007
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 08.05.2007
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 08.05.2007
Kawczynski, Daniel Conservative Party Shrewsbury and Atcham 10.05.2007
Kemp, Fraser Labour Party Houghton and Washington East 21.05.2007
Kennedy, Charles Liberal Democrats Ross Skye and Lochaber 04.06.2007
Kilfoyle, Peter Labour Party Liverpool Walton 02.05.2007
Kramer, Susan Liberal Democrats Richmond Park 14.05.2007
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 15.05.2007
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 08.05.2007
Lepper, David Labour Party Brighton Pavilion 08.05.2007
Loughton, Tim Conservative Party East Worthing and Shoreham 09.05.2007
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 09.05.2007
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 10.05.2007
Marshall, David Labour Party Glasgow East 09.05.2007
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 10.05.2007
McCafferty, Chris Labour Party Calder Valley 09.05.2007
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 09.05.2007
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 15.05.2007
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 08.05.2007
McGrady, Eddie Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 14.05.2007
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 08.05.2007
Miller, Andrew Labour Party Ellesmere Port and Neston 15.05.2007
Moffat, Anne Labour Party East Lothian 21.05.2007
Moffatt, Laura Labour Party Crawley 18.05.2007
Moon, Madeleine Labour Party Bridgend 10.05.2007
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 22.10.2007
Naysmith, Doug Labour Party Bristol North West 09.05.2007
Neill, Robert Conservative Party Bromley and Chislehurst 26.07.2007
O'Hara, Edward Labour Party Knowsley South 15.05.2007
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 17.05.2007
Pelling, Andrew Conservative Party Croydon Central 25.07.2007
Pope, Greg Labour Party Hyndburn 17.05.2007
Prosser, Gwyn Labour Party Dover 14.05.2007
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 15.05.2007
Rennie, Willie Liberal Democrats Dunfermline and West Fife 23.05.2007
Robinson, Peter Democratic Unionist Party Belfast East 04.06.2007
Rowen, Paul Liberal Democrats Rochdale 29.10.2007
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 02.05.2007
Sarwar, Mohammad Labour Party Glasgow Central 09.07.2007
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 09.05.2007
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 14.05.2007
Spink, Bob Conservative Party Castle Point 08.05.2007
Stewart, Ian Labour Party Eccles 10.05.2007
Swinson, Jo Liberal Democrats East Dunbartonshire 14.05.2007
Taylor, Richard INDEPENDENT Wyre Forest 14.05.2007
Thurso, John Liberal Democrats Caithness Sutherland and Easter Ross 10.05.2007
Truswell, Paul Labour Party Pudsey 09.05.2007
Turner, Desmond Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 14.05.2007
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 09.05.2007
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 09.05.2007
Walter, Robert Conservative Party North Dorset 17.05.2007
Wareing, Robert N Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 08.05.2007
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 08.05.2007
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Caernarfon 22.05.2007
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 14.05.2007
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 09.05.2007
Willis, Phil Liberal Democrats Harrogate and Knaresborough 17.05.2007
Willott, Jenny Liberal Democrats Cardiff Central 14.05.2007
Wilshire, David Conservative Party Spelthorne 10.05.2007
Winterton, Nicholas Conservative Party Macclesfield 03.05.2007
Wyatt, Derek Labour Party Sittingbourne and Sheppey 14.05.2007