Early day motion 139

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House shares the concerns of the British Retail Consortium about proposals from the Sentencing Advisory Panel which considerably weaken the effective punishment and deterrents for retail crime by either removing custodial sentences or severely limiting them; believes that such leniency will create the perception that theft from shops is acceptable, leading to an increase in retail crime and a consequent further reduction in public and community protection; recognises that although custodial sentences are not the panacea to curbing retail crime, prison not only sends a clear message that shop theft is serious but also provides some respite to victims; is extremely dismayed that, despite over 60 per cent. of instances of violence occurring during shop theft, the Sentencing Advisory Panel considers shoplifting to be a nuisance causing minor harm, an approach which exemplifies the apparent belief amongst policy makers that retail crime is victimless; further recognises that shoplifting is often an entry level crime which frequently leads to other offences and is often a means of funding drug addiction, as well as financing organised crime and terrorism; and calls on the Government to establish a retail crime strategy steering group, including ministerial representation, to develop and implement a retail crime strategy for England and Wales.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 67

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 67 out of 67

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Amess, David Conservative Party Southend West 11.12.2006
Arbuthnot, James Conservative Party North East Hampshire 05.12.2006
Binley, Brian Conservative Party Northampton South 30.11.2006
Breed, Colin Liberal Democrats South East Cornwall 22.11.2006
Conway, Derek Conservative Party Old Bexley and Sidcup 21.11.2006
Crabb, Stephen Conservative Party Preseli Pembrokeshire 30.11.2006
Davies, Dai INDEPENDENT Blaenau Gwent 21.11.2006
Davies, David TC Conservative Party Monmouth 20.11.2006
Davies, Philip Conservative Party Shipley 20.11.2006
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 05.12.2006
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 21.11.2006
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 30.11.2006
Dorries, Nadine Conservative Party Mid Bedfordshire 04.12.2006
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West 07.12.2006
Dunne, Philip Conservative Party Ludlow 05.12.2006
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 04.12.2006
Evans, Nigel [R] Conservative Party Ribble Valley 20.11.2006
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 04.12.2006
Fraser, Christopher Conservative Party South West Norfolk 19.12.2006
Gilroy, Linda Labour Party Plymouth Sutton 20.11.2006
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Sparkbrook and Small Heath 29.11.2006
Goodwill, Robert Conservative Party Scarborough and Whitby 22.01.2007
Gove, Michael Conservative Party Surrey Heath 04.12.2006
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 22.01.2007
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 23.11.2006
Henderson, Doug Labour Party Newcastle upon Tyne North 23.01.2007
Hoyle, Lindsay Labour Party Chorley 28.11.2006
Humble, Joan Labour Party Blackpool North and Fleetwood 21.11.2006
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Highgate 21.11.2006
Jackson, Stewart Conservative Party Peterborough 21.11.2006
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 23.11.2006
Kirkbride, Julie Conservative Party Bromsgrove 20.11.2006
Lancaster, Mark Conservative Party Milton Keynes North East 04.12.2006
Lepper, David Labour Party Brighton Pavilion 22.11.2006
Lewis, Julian Conservative Party New Forest East 21.11.2006
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Meirionnydd Nant Conwy 21.11.2006
Luff, Peter Conservative Party Mid Worcestershire 27.11.2006
Maclean, David Conservative Party Penrith and the Border 18.12.2006
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 23.01.2007
McCafferty, Chris Labour Party Calder Valley 22.11.2006
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 05.12.2006
Mitchell, Austin Labour Party Great Grimsby 08.01.2007
Moss, Malcolm Conservative Party North East Cambridgeshire 27.11.2006
Mullin, Chris Labour Party Sunderland South 22.01.2007
Murphy, Denis Labour Party Wansbeck 29.11.2006
Murrison, Andrew Conservative Party Westbury 22.11.2006
O'Hara, Edward Labour Party Knowsley South 29.11.2006
Olner, Bill Labour Party Nuneaton 22.11.2006
Paice, James Conservative Party South East Cambridgeshire 23.11.2006
Penning, Mike Conservative Party Hemel Hempstead 20.11.2006
Prosser, Gwyn Labour Party Dover 20.11.2006
Robinson, Iris Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 22.11.2006
Scott, Lee Conservative Party Ilford North 20.11.2006
Soames, Nicholas Conservative Party Mid Sussex 29.11.2006
Spellar, John Labour Party Warley 20.11.2006
Spink, Bob Conservative Party Castle Point 20.11.2006
Stewart, Ian Labour Party Eccles 21.02.2007
Turner, Desmond Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 18.12.2006
Viggers, Peter Conservative Party Gosport 22.11.2006
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 29.11.2006
Walter, Robert Conservative Party North Dorset 04.12.2006
Waterson, Nigel Conservative Party Eastbourne 20.11.2006
Watkinson, Angela Conservative Party Upminster 20.11.2006
Widdecombe, Ann Conservative Party Maidstone and the Weald 11.01.2007
Wilshire, David Conservative Party Spelthorne 27.11.2006
Winterton, Ann Conservative Party Congleton 21.11.2006
Wright, Jeremy Conservative Party Rugby and Kenilworth 18.12.2006