Early day motion 1342

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House welcomes the fact that no cetaceans (whales, dolphins and porpoises) have been kept in captivity in the UK since 1993, but is concerned that there is no legislation to prevent these animals being housed in captive facilities within the UK in the future; notes that cetaceans are intelligent, social animals with complex needs which cannot be met in captivity and that there is evidence to suggest that captivity causes serious physical and behavioural welfare problems, and that many cetaceans are still taken from the wild to supply captive facilities; furthermore, notes with concern the involvement of companies in the UK with overseas establishments which keep cetaceans in captivity; and calls on the Government to introduce legislation specifically prohibiting the keeping of cetaceans in captivity other than in cases which involve short-term rehabilitation with a view to a release back to the wild in the case of injured cetaceans.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 113

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 113 out of 113

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 29.06.2007
Amess, David Conservative Party Southend West 03.05.2007
Austin, John Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 04.06.2007
Bailey, Adrian Labour Party West Bromwich West 18.06.2007
Baker, Norman Liberal Democrats Lewes 08.05.2007
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party City of York 08.10.2007
Begg, Anne Labour Party Aberdeen South 13.06.2007
Beith, Alan Liberal Democrats Berwick-Upon-Tweed 02.07.2007
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield Attercliffe 08.10.2007
Borrow, David S Labour Party South Ribble 10.05.2007
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 19.06.2007
Brown, Lyn Labour Party West Ham 03.05.2007
Bruce, Malcolm Liberal Democrats Gordon 23.07.2007
Burgon, Colin Labour Party Elmet 15.05.2007
Cable, Vincent Liberal Democrats Twickenham 25.07.2007
Carmichael, Alistair Liberal Democrats Orkney and Shetland 16.05.2007
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 25.04.2007
Challen, Colin Labour Party Morley and Rothwell 26.06.2007
Chaytor, David Labour Party Bury North 08.05.2007
Clapham, Michael Labour Party Barnsley West and Penistone 10.05.2007
Clwyd, Ann Labour Party Cynon Valley 18.06.2007
Cohen, Harry Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 08.05.2007
Conway, Derek Conservative Party Old Bexley and Sidcup 08.05.2007
Cook, Frank Labour Party Stockton North 08.05.2007
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 25.04.2007
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 22.05.2007
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 30.04.2007
Davies, Dai INDEPENDENT Blaenau Gwent 26.04.2007
Davies, Philip Conservative Party Shipley 01.05.2007
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 01.05.2007
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 25.04.2007
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West 16.05.2007
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 27.04.2007
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 02.05.2007
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 30.04.2007
Foster, Don Liberal Democrats Bath 20.06.2007
Foster, Michael Jabez Labour Party Hastings and Rye 08.05.2007
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 01.05.2007
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 24.04.2007
Gerrard, Neil Labour Party Walthamstow 26.04.2007
Gilroy, Linda Labour Party Plymouth Sutton 08.10.2007
Griffith, Nia Labour Party Llanelli 14.06.2007
Hamilton, David Labour Party Midlothian 21.05.2007
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 24.04.2007
Harris, Evan Liberal Democrats Oxford West and Abingdon 18.05.2007
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 14.05.2007
Havard, Dai Labour Party Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney 14.05.2007
Holmes, Paul Liberal Democrats Chesterfield 25.04.2007
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 01.05.2007
Horam, John Conservative Party Orpington 24.05.2007
Horwood, Martin Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 16.05.2007
Howarth, David Liberal Democrats Cambridge 29.10.2007
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley North and Sefton East 01.05.2007
Huhne, Chris Liberal Democrats Eastleigh 06.06.2007
Humble, Joan Labour Party Blackpool North and Fleetwood 09.05.2007
James, Sian C Labour Party Swansea East 16.05.2007
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 03.05.2007
Jones, David Conservative Party Clwyd West 29.06.2007
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 16.05.2007
Lamb, Norman Liberal Democrats North Norfolk 27.06.2007
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 30.04.2007
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 08.05.2007
Lepper, David Labour Party Brighton Pavilion 09.10.2007
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 04.06.2007
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Meirionnydd Nant Conwy 02.05.2007
Mackinlay, Andrew Labour Party Thurrock 02.05.2007
Main, Anne Conservative Party St Albans 14.05.2007
Marris, Rob Labour Party Wolverhampton South West 26.04.2007
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 10.05.2007
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 30.04.2007
Mates, Michael Conservative Party East Hampshire 08.10.2007
McCarthy, Kerry Labour Party Bristol East 15.06.2007
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 15.05.2007
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 08.05.2007
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 26.04.2007
Miller, Andrew Labour Party Ellesmere Port and Neston 10.05.2007
Moon, Madeleine Labour Party Bridgend 10.05.2007
Morgan, Julie Labour Party Cardiff North 19.07.2007
Mullin, Chris Labour Party Sunderland South 11.06.2007
O'Hara, Edward Labour Party Knowsley South 01.05.2007
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 01.05.2007
Ottaway, Richard Conservative Party Croydon South 24.10.2007
Pelling, Andrew Conservative Party Croydon Central 01.05.2007
Penning, Mike Conservative Party Hemel Hempstead 24.04.2007
Pope, Greg Labour Party Hyndburn 19.06.2007
Prosser, Gwyn Labour Party Dover 14.05.2007
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 20.06.2007
Robertson, John Labour Party Glasgow North West 13.06.2007
Ruane, Chris Labour Party Vale of Clwyd 09.07.2007
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 24.04.2007
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 25.04.2007
Shepherd, Richard Conservative Party Aldridge-Brownhills 09.07.2007
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 01.05.2007
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 25.04.2007
Spellar, John Labour Party Warley 10.10.2007
Spink, Bob Conservative Party Castle Point 27.04.2007
Stewart, Ian Labour Party Eccles 10.05.2007
Strang, Gavin Labour Party Edinburgh East 15.06.2007
Swinson, Jo Liberal Democrats East Dunbartonshire 08.05.2007
Taylor, David Labour Party North West Leicestershire 19.06.2007
Taylor, Matthew Liberal Democrats Truro and St Austell 04.07.2007
Thornberry, Emily Labour Party Islington South and Finsbury 08.10.2007
Thurso, John Liberal Democrats Caithness Sutherland and Easter Ross 10.05.2007
Truswell, Paul Labour Party Pudsey 16.05.2007
Turner, Desmond Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 02.05.2007
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 02.05.2007
Walter, Robert Conservative Party North Dorset 03.05.2007
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 30.04.2007
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Caernarfon 22.05.2007
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 25.04.2007
Willis, Phil Liberal Democrats Harrogate and Knaresborough 26.04.2007
Wood, Mike Roy Labour Party Batley and Spen 14.05.2007
Wyatt, Derek Labour Party Sittingbourne and Sheppey 04.07.2007