Early day motion 1289

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes with concern that despite not owning or using a television set over one million people (two per cent. of the population) nonetheless receive letters from TV Licensing demanding information and a response to prove non-use; is concerned that in the absence of any such response such citizens receive further chasing letters intimidating in tone; recognises that there are many constantly reported cases of non-TV owners being distressed by such threatening letters; is further concerned that these letters are sent without any evidence that a TV is owned; notes that Capita plc, the company that operates the collection of the TV licence fee for the BBC, reported a 22 per cent. jump in profits before tax in 2004 to £148 million and a further jump in 2005 by 19 per cent. to £177 million; and calls upon TV Licensing to introduce a new system for collecting licence fees that is more sensitive to those citizens who legitimately choose not to have a television; and further calls upon TV Licensing to be required to use sophisticated non-intrusive detection technology which they presently refuse to use as they consider it more cost effective to harass innocent non-television owning citizens by unsupportable threatening letters.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 60

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 60 out of 60

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 19.04.2007
Breed, Colin Liberal Democrats South East Cornwall 18.04.2007
Cable, Vincent Liberal Democrats Twickenham 24.04.2007
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 25.04.2007
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 25.04.2007
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 20.04.2007
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 24.04.2007
Conway, Derek Conservative Party Old Bexley and Sidcup 08.05.2007
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 19.04.2007
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 22.05.2007
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 19.04.2007
Davey, Edward Liberal Democrats Kingston and Surbiton 16.10.2007
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 25.04.2007
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 19.04.2007
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 02.05.2007
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 19.04.2007
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 02.05.2007
Evans, Nigel Conservative Party Ribble Valley 26.04.2007
Featherstone, Lynne Liberal Democrats Hornsey and Wood Green 15.10.2007
Foster, Michael Jabez Labour Party Hastings and Rye 08.05.2007
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 18.04.2007
Gerrard, Neil Labour Party Walthamstow 26.04.2007
Gilroy, Linda Labour Party Plymouth Sutton 18.04.2007
Hamilton, David Labour Party Midlothian 02.05.2007
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 23.04.2007
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 14.05.2007
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 09.05.2007
Hodgson, Sharon Labour Party Gateshead East and Washington West 20.04.2007
Horam, John Conservative Party Orpington 14.06.2007
Horwood, Martin Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 10.05.2007
Howarth, David Liberal Democrats Cambridge 13.06.2007
Hunter, Mark Liberal Democrats Cheadle 03.07.2007
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Highgate 19.04.2007
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 25.04.2007
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 19.04.2007
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 26.04.2007
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Meirionnydd Nant Conwy 24.04.2007
Marris, Rob Labour Party Wolverhampton South West 26.04.2007
Marshall, David Labour Party Glasgow East 01.05.2007
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 25.04.2007
McCafferty, Chris Labour Party Calder Valley 25.04.2007
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 25.04.2007
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 09.05.2007
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 24.04.2007
Murrison, Andrew Conservative Party Westbury 12.06.2007
Penning, Mike Conservative Party Hemel Hempstead 18.04.2007
Pope, Greg Labour Party Hyndburn 24.04.2007
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 30.04.2007
Rennie, Willie Liberal Democrats Dunfermline and West Fife 23.05.2007
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 22.05.2007
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 18.04.2007
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 01.05.2007
Streeter, Gary Conservative Party South West Devon 18.04.2007
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 19.04.2007
Swinson, Jo Liberal Democrats East Dunbartonshire 01.05.2007
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 23.04.2007
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 25.04.2007
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 24.04.2007
Wilson, Sammy Democratic Unionist Party East Antrim 08.05.2007
Winterton, Nicholas Conservative Party Macclesfield 23.04.2007