Early day motion 1236

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes with concern current moves by pro-whaling nations to overturn a ban on commercial whaling; notes that population levels of certain whale species worldwide remain at biologically unsustainable levels; deplores the tactics used by the Japanese government to gain support for the removal of the ban from Caribbean and African nations through the use of aid; notes that no pro-whaling nations have sustainable markets for the meat, and consumption is falling; and calls on the UK Government to work closely with other international partners to oppose any moves to return to commercial whaling at the International Whaling Commission meeting on 28th May in Alaska.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 109

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 109 out of 109

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 25.04.2007
Atkins, Charlotte Labour Party Staffordshire Moorlands 17.05.2007
Bailey, Adrian Labour Party West Bromwich West 14.05.2007
Baker, Norman Liberal Democrats Lewes 16.04.2007
Barrett, John Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 27.03.2007
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield Attercliffe 19.04.2007
Blackman-Woods, Roberta Labour Party City of Durham 19.06.2007
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 28.03.2007
Breed, Colin Liberal Democrats South East Cornwall 28.03.2007
Brown, Lyn Labour Party West Ham 16.04.2007
Bryant, Chris Labour Party Rhondda 16.04.2007
Buck, Karen Labour Party Regent's Park and Kensington North 04.06.2007
Cable, Vincent Liberal Democrats Twickenham 29.03.2007
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 28.03.2007
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 17.04.2007
Clarke, Tom Labour Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 15.05.2007
Cohen, Harry Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 16.05.2007
Cook, Frank Labour Party Stockton North 15.05.2007
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 17.04.2007
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 22.05.2007
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 16.04.2007
Davey, Edward Liberal Democrats Kingston and Surbiton 18.04.2007
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 17.04.2007
Devine, Jim Labour Party Livingston 24.05.2007
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 28.03.2007
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 02.05.2007
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West 16.05.2007
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 28.03.2007
Ennis, Jeff Labour Party Barnsley East and Mexborough 05.06.2007
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 16.04.2007
Evans, Nigel Conservative Party Ribble Valley 29.03.2007
Featherstone, Lynne Liberal Democrats Hornsey and Wood Green 25.04.2007
Fisher, Mark Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent Central 24.05.2007
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 28.03.2007
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 28.03.2007
George, Bruce Labour Party Walsall South 14.05.2007
Hamilton, David Labour Party Midlothian 16.04.2007
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 28.03.2007
Harris, Evan Liberal Democrats Oxford West and Abingdon 16.04.2007
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 15.05.2007
Heath, David Liberal Democrats Somerton and Frome 29.03.2007
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 19.04.2007
Hermon, Lady Ulster Unionist Party North Down 17.04.2007
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 04.06.2007
Holmes, Paul Liberal Democrats Chesterfield 28.03.2007
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 29.03.2007
Hoyle, Lindsay Labour Party Chorley 18.04.2007
Huhne, Chris Liberal Democrats Eastleigh 16.04.2007
Humble, Joan Labour Party Blackpool North and Fleetwood 17.05.2007
Hunter, Mark Liberal Democrats Cheadle 17.04.2007
Iddon, Brian Labour Party Bolton South East 05.06.2007
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 28.03.2007
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Highgate 16.04.2007
James, Sian C Labour Party Swansea East 10.05.2007
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 23.04.2007
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 28.03.2007
Kawczynski, Daniel Conservative Party Shrewsbury and Atcham 17.05.2007
Keeley, Barbara Labour Party Worsley 27.06.2007
Lamb, Norman Liberal Democrats North Norfolk 18.04.2007
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 16.04.2007
Lepper, David Labour Party Brighton Pavilion 17.04.2007
Linton, Martin Labour Party Battersea 18.05.2007
Lucas, Ian Labour Party Wrexham 24.05.2007
MacDougall, John Labour Party Glenrothes 22.05.2007
Marris, Rob Labour Party Wolverhampton South West 28.03.2007
Marshall-Andrews, Robert Labour Party Medway 15.05.2007
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 28.03.2007
McCafferty, Chris Labour Party Calder Valley 29.03.2007
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 23.04.2007
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 17.04.2007
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 29.03.2007
Miller, Andrew Labour Party Ellesmere Port and Neston 16.05.2007
Moffat, Anne Labour Party East Lothian 21.05.2007
Moon, Madeleine Labour Party Bridgend 16.04.2007
Morgan, Julie Labour Party Cardiff North 11.06.2007
Morley, Elliot Labour Party Scunthorpe 25.06.2007
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 28.03.2007
Murphy, Denis Labour Party Wansbeck 15.05.2007
Naysmith, Doug Labour Party Bristol North West 26.04.2007
O'Hara, Edward Labour Party Knowsley South 15.05.2007
Olner, Bill Labour Party Nuneaton 14.05.2007
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 17.05.2007
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 29.03.2007
Rennie, Willie Liberal Democrats Dunfermline and West Fife 23.05.2007
Rowen, Paul Liberal Democrats Rochdale 18.04.2007
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 28.03.2007
Scott, Lee Conservative Party Ilford North 16.04.2007
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 17.04.2007
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 01.05.2007
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 18.04.2007
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 09.05.2007
Smith, Robert Liberal Democrats West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine 16.04.2007
Spink, Bob Conservative Party Castle Point 28.03.2007
Stoate, Howard Labour Party Dartford 15.05.2007
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 16.04.2007
Swinson, Jo Liberal Democrats East Dunbartonshire 01.05.2007
Taylor, David Labour Party North West Leicestershire 29.03.2007
Trickett, Jon Labour Party Hemsworth 17.05.2007
Truswell, Paul Labour Party Pudsey 09.05.2007
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 28.03.2007
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 16.05.2007
Waltho, Lynda Labour Party Stourbridge 04.06.2007
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 29.03.2007
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Caernarfon 22.05.2007
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 18.04.2007
Williams, Roger Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 19.04.2007
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 29.03.2007
Willis, Phil Liberal Democrats Harrogate and Knaresborough 20.04.2007
Wilson, Sammy Democratic Unionist Party East Antrim 28.03.2007