Early day motion 793

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House recalls the BBC's commitment to relocate production and employment to Manchester; notes that the BBC is important to all regions and nations of the country; believes that the move has the potential to benefit not just Manchester and the North West but the whole of the North; notes that the Governors of the BBC will decide upon the move at a meeting on 20th October; is concerned about recent suggestions that this may be linked to the outcome of negotiations over the licensing fee; and calls upon the Governors of the BBC to give the people of the United Kingdom a clear and unambiguous decision that the move will progress in the interests of the whole of the United Kingdom, with a commitment to move commissioning powers and major departments.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 36

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 36 out of 36

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, Janet Labour Party Rossendale and Darwen 18.10.2005
Borrow, David S Labour Party South Ribble 20.10.2005
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 19.10.2005
Chaytor, David Labour Party Bury North 18.10.2005
Clapham, Michael Labour Party Barnsley West and Penistone 27.10.2005
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 27.10.2005
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 18.10.2005
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 25.10.2005
Cummings, John Labour Party Easington 19.10.2005
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 18.10.2005
Ellman, Louise Labour Party Liverpool Riverside 18.10.2005
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 25.10.2005
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 25.10.2005
Gwynne, Andrew Labour Party Denton and Reddish 19.10.2005
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 19.10.2005
Hoyle, Lindsay Labour Party Chorley 18.10.2005
Humble, Joan Labour Party Blackpool North and Fleetwood 19.10.2005
Hunter, Mark Liberal Democrats Cheadle 20.10.2005
Iddon, Brian Labour Party Bolton South East 20.10.2005
Keeley, Barbara Labour Party Worsley 18.10.2005
Keetch, Paul Liberal Democrats Hereford 21.10.2005
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 19.10.2005
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 18.10.2005
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 25.10.2005
McCafferty, Chris Labour Party Calder Valley 19.10.2005
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 31.10.2005
Pope, Greg Labour Party Hyndburn 19.10.2005
Prentice, Gordon Labour Party Pendle 18.10.2005
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 24.10.2005
Rowen, Paul Liberal Democrats Rochdale 26.10.2005
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 03.11.2005
Southworth, Helen Labour Party Warrington South 18.10.2005
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Manchester Blackley 19.10.2005
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 20.10.2005
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 19.10.2005
Winterton, Nicholas Conservative Party Macclesfield 19.10.2005