Early day motion 2705

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House welcomes the widespread commemoration of the 70th anniversary of the Battle of Cable Street when the people of the East End courageously halted the provocative march of the anti-semitic and racist British Union of Fascists; remembers with pride the significance of this action of international solidarity for peoples across Europe, in particular the Jewish community in Nazi Germany and the democratically elected Spanish Republican Government withstanding the Franco military rising; and calls on all progressive people to invoke the spirit of Cable Street again today by challenging and defeating the rise of racism and fascism at home and abroad.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 125

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 125 out of 125

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 10.10.2006
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 24.10.2006
Atkins, Charlotte Labour Party Staffordshire Moorlands 16.10.2006
Austin, Ian Labour Party Dudley North 16.10.2006
Battle, John Labour Party Leeds West 26.10.2006
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party City of York 11.10.2006
Borrow, David S Labour Party South Ribble 12.10.2006
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 11.10.2006
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 11.10.2006
Brown, Russell Labour Party Dumfries and Galloway 10.10.2006
Burden, Richard Labour Party Birmingham Northfield 10.10.2006
Burgon, Colin Labour Party Elmet 19.10.2006
Butler, Dawn Labour Party Brent South 18.10.2006
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 30.10.2006
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 11.10.2006
Challen, Colin Labour Party Morley and Rothwell 10.10.2006
Clapham, Michael Labour Party Barnsley West and Penistone 10.10.2006
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 12.10.2006
Cohen, Harry Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 10.10.2006
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 10.10.2006
Creagh, Mary Labour Party Wakefield 10.10.2006
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 10.10.2006
Cummings, John Labour Party Easington 10.10.2006
David, Wayne Labour Party Caerphilly 16.10.2006
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 10.10.2006
Davies, Dai INDEPENDENT Blaenau Gwent 11.10.2006
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 12.10.2006
Devine, Jim Labour Party Livingston 12.10.2006
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 10.10.2006
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 11.10.2006
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West 10.10.2006
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 10.10.2006
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 11.10.2006
Eagle, Angela Labour Party Wallasey 16.10.2006
Efford, Clive Labour Party Eltham 10.10.2006
Ellman, Louise Labour Party Liverpool Riverside 10.10.2006
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 24.10.2006
Farrelly, Paul Labour Party Newcastle-under-Lyme 17.10.2006
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 10.10.2006
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 10.10.2006
Galloway, George Respect Bethnal Green and Bow 16.10.2006
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 10.10.2006
Gerrard, Neil Labour Party Walthamstow 16.10.2006
Gibson, Ian Labour Party Norwich North 11.10.2006
Goodman, Helen Labour Party Bishop Auckland 17.10.2006
Griffith, Nia Labour Party Llanelli 10.10.2006
Hamilton, David Labour Party Midlothian 10.10.2006
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 11.10.2006
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 12.10.2006
Henderson, Doug Labour Party Newcastle upon Tyne North 10.10.2006
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 23.10.2006
Holmes, Paul Liberal Democrats Chesterfield 11.10.2006
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 17.10.2006
Horwood, Martin Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 06.11.2006
Hosie, Stewart Scottish National Party Dundee East 10.10.2006
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley North and Sefton East 10.10.2006
Hoyle, Lindsay Labour Party Chorley 17.10.2006
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 06.11.2006
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Highgate 11.10.2006
James, Sian C Labour Party Swansea East 18.10.2006
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 19.10.2006
Jones, Helen Labour Party Warrington North 11.10.2006
Jones, Kevan Labour Party North Durham 10.10.2006
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 11.10.2006
Keeley, Barbara Labour Party Worsley 10.10.2006
Keetch, Paul Liberal Democrats Hereford 16.10.2006
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 18.10.2006
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 16.10.2006
Lepper, David Labour Party Brighton Pavilion 11.10.2006
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 10.10.2006
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Meirionnydd Nant Conwy 17.10.2006
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 11.10.2006
MacShane, Denis Labour Party Rotherham 10.10.2006
Malik, Shahid Labour Party Dewsbury 10.10.2006
Marris, Rob Labour Party Wolverhampton South West 10.10.2006
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 11.10.2006
Marshall, David Labour Party Glasgow East 10.10.2006
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 06.11.2006
McCafferty, Chris Labour Party Calder Valley 11.10.2006
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 20.10.2006
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 10.10.2006
McFall, John Labour Party West Dunbartonshire 10.10.2006
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 11.10.2006
McKechin, Ann Labour Party Glasgow North 10.10.2006
Meacher, Michael Labour Party Oldham West and Royton 10.10.2006
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 11.10.2006
Miller, Andrew Labour Party Ellesmere Port and Neston 10.10.2006
Moffatt, Laura Labour Party Crawley 10.10.2006
Morgan, Julie Labour Party Cardiff North 19.10.2006
Morley, Elliot Labour Party Scunthorpe 10.10.2006
Naysmith, Doug Labour Party Bristol North West 06.11.2006
Pope, Greg Labour Party Hyndburn 10.10.2006
Pound, Stephen Labour Party Ealing North 10.10.2006
Prentice, Gordon Labour Party Pendle 10.10.2006
Price, Adam Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 10.10.2006
Prosser, Gwyn Labour Party Dover 10.10.2006
Rennie, Willie Liberal Democrats Dunfermline and West Fife 18.10.2006
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 10.10.2006
Rowen, Paul Liberal Democrats Rochdale 19.10.2006
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 10.10.2006
Salter, Martin Labour Party Reading West 10.10.2006
Sarwar, Mohammad Labour Party Glasgow Central 10.10.2006
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 10.10.2006
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 10.10.2006
Singh, Marsha Labour Party Bradford West 12.10.2006
Smith, John P Labour Party Vale of Glamorgan 11.10.2006
Spellar, John Labour Party Warley 10.10.2006
Spink, Bob Conservative Party Castle Point 16.10.2006
Strang, Gavin Labour Party Edinburgh East 10.10.2006
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Manchester Blackley 12.10.2006
Taylor, David Labour Party North West Leicestershire 10.10.2006
Touhig, Don Labour Party Islwyn 10.10.2006
Trickett, Jon Labour Party Hemsworth 10.10.2006
Vaz, Keith Labour Party Leicester East 16.10.2006
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 11.10.2006
Wareing, Robert N Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 11.10.2006
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 17.10.2006
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 16.10.2006
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Caernarfon 10.10.2006
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 11.10.2006
Willis, Phil Liberal Democrats Harrogate and Knaresborough 30.10.2006
Winnick, David Labour Party Walsall North 10.10.2006
Wright, David Labour Party Telford 17.10.2006
Wright, Iain Labour Party Hartlepool 10.10.2006
Wyatt, Derek Labour Party Sittingbourne and Sheppey 23.10.2006