Early day motion 2578

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House condemns the slaughter of 10,000 greyhounds by Mr David Smith, who buried them in a one acre plot of land at the rear of his home; notes that Mr Smith receives business from trainers across the country who want greyhounds put down after they are no longer considered to be fast enough to race; welcomes the Government's inquiry into the slaughter and potential health and environmental hazards this may cause; and calls on the British Greyhound Racing Board to investigate this matter and to invest more money into promoting and providing retirement homes for greyhounds as well as ensuring that when a dog has to be put down humane methods are used.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 72

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 72 out of 72

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Austin, Ian Labour Party Dudley North 20.07.2006
Austin, John Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 19.07.2006
Banks, Gordon Labour Party Ochil and South Perthshire 09.10.2006
Borrow, David S Labour Party South Ribble 19.07.2006
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 24.07.2006
Breed, Colin Liberal Democrats South East Cornwall 19.07.2006
Burgon, Colin Labour Party Elmet 20.07.2006
Burt, Lorely Liberal Democrats Solihull 09.10.2006
Cable, Vincent Liberal Democrats Twickenham 20.07.2006
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 19.07.2006
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 18.07.2006
Clelland, David Labour Party Tyne Bridge 09.10.2006
Cohen, Harry Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 19.07.2006
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 17.07.2006
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 18.07.2006
Cummings, John Labour Party Easington 19.07.2006
Davey, Edward Liberal Democrats Kingston and Surbiton 16.10.2006
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 18.07.2006
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 19.07.2006
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 19.07.2006
Efford, Clive Labour Party Eltham 24.07.2006
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 09.10.2006
Evans, Nigel Conservative Party Ribble Valley 18.07.2006
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 18.07.2006
Gibson, Ian Labour Party Norwich North 20.07.2006
Hamilton, David Labour Party Midlothian 20.07.2006
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 20.07.2006
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 20.07.2006
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 20.07.2006
Hendrick, Mark Labour Party Preston 25.07.2006
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 23.10.2006
Hermon, Lady Ulster Unionist Party North Down 24.07.2006
Holmes, Paul Liberal Democrats Chesterfield 19.07.2006
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 19.07.2006
Horwood, Martin Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 06.11.2006
Hoyle, Lindsay Labour Party Chorley 17.07.2006
Hughes, Simon Liberal Democrats North Southwark and Bermondsey 09.10.2006
Jackson, Stewart Conservative Party Peterborough 19.07.2006
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 19.10.2006
Johnson, Diana R Labour Party Kingston upon Hull North 18.07.2006
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 18.07.2006
Khan, Sadiq Labour Party Tooting 09.10.2006
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 19.07.2006
Lepper, David Labour Party Brighton Pavilion 24.07.2006
Loughton, Tim Conservative Party East Worthing and Shoreham 18.07.2006
MacDougall, John Labour Party Glenrothes 07.11.2006
Mallaber, Judy Labour Party Amber Valley 09.10.2006
Marris, Rob Labour Party Wolverhampton South West 20.07.2006
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 19.07.2006
McCafferty, Chris Labour Party Calder Valley 19.07.2006
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 24.07.2006
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 19.07.2006
Morden, Jessica Labour Party Newport East 25.07.2006
Morgan, Julie Labour Party Cardiff North 25.07.2006
Moss, Malcolm Conservative Party North East Cambridgeshire 18.07.2006
O'Hara, Edward Labour Party Knowsley South 20.07.2006
Penning, Mike Conservative Party Hemel Hempstead 17.07.2006
Pope, Greg Labour Party Hyndburn 20.07.2006
Price, Adam Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 09.10.2006
Rosindell, Andrew Conservative Party Romford 20.07.2006
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 17.07.2006
Scott, Lee Conservative Party Ilford North 19.07.2006
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 24.07.2006
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 12.10.2006
Stewart, Ian Labour Party Eccles 09.10.2006
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 25.07.2006
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 19.07.2006
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 09.10.2006
Wareing, Robert N Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 24.07.2006
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 24.07.2006
Wilson, Sammy Democratic Unionist Party East Antrim 09.10.2006
Wyatt, Derek Labour Party Sittingbourne and Sheppey 25.07.2006