Early day motion 2248

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that unions representing workers in Iraq and Iraqi Kurdistan face incredible challenges in defending working people and rebuilding democracy and that one of their requests for solidarity to be shown by British trade unionists is in the provision of mobile phones, which are crucial for any union organiser but especially in Iraq, where travel can be dangerous and landlines are not sufficiently reliable or widespread; further notes that mobile phone handsets are expensive to buy in Iraq and that buying new ones could eat up scarce union resources, but that the Iraqi trade union movement has identified a way of easily converting old European mobile phones for use in Iraq; and congratulates the TUC on launching an appeal for unions, their members and concerned members of the public to pass on via the TUC their used mobile phones and chargers to the Iraqi trade union movement as an act of solidarity.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 47

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 47 out of 47

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 24.05.2006
Anderson, Janet Labour Party Rossendale and Darwen 05.06.2006
Borrow, David S Labour Party South Ribble 27.06.2006
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 25.05.2006
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 14.06.2006
Cable, Vincent Liberal Democrats Twickenham 19.06.2006
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 07.06.2006
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 25.05.2006
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 19.06.2006
Conway, Derek Conservative Party Old Bexley and Sidcup 07.06.2006
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 08.06.2006
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 06.06.2006
Creagh, Mary Labour Party Wakefield 12.06.2006
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 20.06.2006
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 06.06.2006
Devine, Jim Labour Party Livingston 07.06.2006
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 25.05.2006
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 06.06.2006
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 25.05.2006
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 06.06.2006
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 12.06.2006
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 06.06.2006
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 12.06.2006
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Sparkbrook and Small Heath 12.06.2006
Hamilton, David Labour Party Midlothian 14.06.2006
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 07.06.2006
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 20.07.2006
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 22.06.2006
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 20.06.2006
Hodgson, Sharon Labour Party Gateshead East and Washington West 13.06.2006
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 05.06.2006
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 07.06.2006
Lepper, David Labour Party Brighton Pavilion 07.06.2006
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 25.05.2006
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Meirionnydd Nant Conwy 07.06.2006
Marris, Rob Labour Party Wolverhampton South West 07.06.2006
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 05.06.2006
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 08.06.2006
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 25.05.2006
Morgan, Julie Labour Party Cardiff North 14.06.2006
Pope, Greg Labour Party Hyndburn 25.05.2006
Price, Adam Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 05.06.2006
Robertson, John Labour Party Glasgow North West 12.06.2006
Sarwar, Mohammad Labour Party Glasgow Central 06.07.2006
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 08.06.2006
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 07.06.2006
Younger-Ross, Richard Liberal Democrats Teignbridge 05.06.2006