Early day motion 2131

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House applauds the signing of a peace settlement between the major rebel group the Sudan Liberation Movement (SLM) and the government of Sudan on 5th May 2006; welcomes the intervention of the Secretary of State for International Development the right hon. Member for Leeds Central, and the US Deputy Secretary of State in the mediation process that led to the settlement; recognises the peace settlement to be a positive step towards ending a conflict that has displaced a population of over two million and caused the death of more than 180,000 people; cautions against excessive optimism as the peace settlement is but a first step, agreed to in part by the major rebel movement, SLM, and rejected by the other two rebel movements; and urges that in order for the settlement to bear long term peaceful solution to the Darfur conflict the two parties need to commit genuinely to an end to the conflict and that the international community, especially the UK Government, must continue to put pressure on the parties to honour their pledges, pursue opportunities to include the other rebel groups within the peace process and provide sufficient funding for the African Union and for the humanitarian aid effort.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 77

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 77 out of 77

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Amess, David Conservative Party Southend West 05.06.2006
Bercow, John Conservative Party Buckingham 22.05.2006
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 11.05.2006
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 14.06.2006
Brokenshire, James Conservative Party Hornchurch 23.05.2006
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 12.05.2006
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 11.05.2006
Conway, Derek Conservative Party Old Bexley and Sidcup 23.05.2006
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 24.05.2006
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 16.05.2006
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 24.05.2006
Devine, Jim Labour Party Livingston 15.05.2006
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 12.05.2006
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 15.05.2006
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 10.05.2006
Duddridge, James Conservative Party Rochford and Southend East 06.06.2006
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 05.06.2006
Fabricant, Michael Conservative Party Lichfield 22.05.2006
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 11.05.2006
Fraser, Christopher Conservative Party South West Norfolk 23.05.2006
Gerrard, Neil Labour Party Walthamstow 17.05.2006
Gillan, Cheryl Conservative Party Chesham and Amersham 23.05.2006
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Sparkbrook and Small Heath 17.05.2006
Goodman, Helen Labour Party Bishop Auckland 12.05.2006
Gove, Michael Conservative Party Surrey Heath 23.05.2006
Green, Damian Conservative Party Ashford 06.11.2006
Hague, William Conservative Party Richmond (Yorks) 23.05.2006
Hamilton, David Labour Party Midlothian 24.05.2006
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 16.05.2006
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 25.05.2006
Heald, Oliver Conservative Party North East Hertfordshire 23.05.2006
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 24.05.2006
Hendry, Charles Conservative Party Wealden 15.06.2006
Hodgson, Sharon Labour Party Gateshead East and Washington West 24.05.2006
Holloway, Adam Conservative Party Gravesham 23.05.2006
Holmes, Paul Liberal Democrats Chesterfield 11.05.2006
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 11.05.2006
Horam, John Conservative Party Orpington 23.05.2006
Horwood, Martin Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 12.06.2006
Hunter, Mark Liberal Democrats Cheadle 16.05.2006
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 25.05.2006
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 11.05.2006
Kramer, Susan Liberal Democrats Richmond Park 15.05.2006
Laing, Eleanor Conservative Party Epping Forest 15.06.2006
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 16.05.2006
Lepper, David Labour Party Brighton Pavilion 15.05.2006
Marris, Rob Labour Party Wolverhampton South West 16.05.2006
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 17.05.2006
McCafferty, Chris Labour Party Calder Valley 11.05.2006
Mercer, Patrick Conservative Party Newark 24.05.2006
Milton, Anne Conservative Party Guildford 23.05.2006
Mitchell, Andrew Conservative Party Sutton Coldfield 22.05.2006
Moon, Madeleine Labour Party Bridgend 15.05.2006
Morgan, Julie Labour Party Cardiff North 07.06.2006
Mundell, David Conservative Party Dumfriesshire Clydesdale and Tweeddale 06.06.2006
Murrison, Andrew Conservative Party Westbury 24.05.2006
Naysmith, Doug Labour Party Bristol North West 06.06.2006
O'Brien, Stephen Conservative Party Eddisbury 23.05.2006
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 12.05.2006
Rowen, Paul Liberal Democrats Rochdale 07.06.2006
Scott, Lee Conservative Party Ilford North 05.06.2006
Selous, Andrew Conservative Party South West Bedfordshire 24.05.2006
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 11.05.2006
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 12.05.2006
Swinson, Jo Liberal Democrats East Dunbartonshire 25.07.2006
Taylor, David Labour Party North West Leicestershire 11.05.2006
Touhig, Don Labour Party Islwyn 16.05.2006
Turner, Desmond Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 12.05.2006
Viggers, Peter Conservative Party Gosport 14.06.2006
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 24.05.2006
Wallace, Ben Conservative Party Lancaster and Wyre 05.06.2006
Watkinson, Angela Conservative Party Upminster 22.05.2006
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 12.05.2006
Wiggin, Bill Conservative Party Leominster 13.07.2006
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 15.05.2006
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 17.05.2006
Wyatt, Derek Labour Party Sittingbourne and Sheppey 17.05.2006