Early day motion 726

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


  • Session: 2004-05
  • Date tabled: 21.02.2005
  • Primary sponsor: Stringer, Graham
  • Sponsors:

    That this House notes Strategic Rail Authority plans to review service and fare levels on the Northern Rail franchise; is concerned that the review will lead to higher fares, replacing off-peak rail services with buses, line closures and job losses; further notes that the Northern Rail franchise has only operated since December 2004; believes the SRA assurances that the new franchise would 'deliver greater value for money to taxpayers' and 'bring to an end any remaining uncertainty over the future shape of rail services in the North of England' have been cast in serious doubt; and urges the Government to use its powers under the Railways Bill to oppose any line closures, job cuts and bustitution proposals which may arise as a result from the review.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 49

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 49 out of 49

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Barnes, Harry Labour Party North East Derbyshire 21.02.2005
Battle, John Labour Party Leeds West 23.02.2005
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party City of York 10.03.2005
Beith, Alan Liberal Democrats Berwick-Upon-Tweed 01.03.2005
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield Attercliffe 04.04.2005
Borrow, David S Labour Party South Ribble 28.02.2005
Bradley, Keith Labour Party Manchester Withington 21.03.2005
Brown, Russell Labour Party Dumfries 23.03.2005
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 14.03.2005
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 23.02.2005
Clapham, Michael Labour Party Barnsley West and Penistone 24.02.2005
Clelland, David Labour Party Tyne Bridge 01.03.2005
Cook, Robin Labour Party Livingston 21.02.2005
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 23.02.2005
Cousins, Jim Labour Party Newcastle upon Tyne Central 01.03.2005
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 21.02.2005
Cryer, John Labour Party Hornchurch 10.03.2005
Dawson, Hilton Labour Party Lancaster and Wyre 21.02.2005
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 23.02.2005
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 24.02.2005
Ennis, Jeff Labour Party Barnsley East and Mexborough 06.04.2005
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 25.02.2005
Gerrard, Neil Labour Party Walthamstow 21.02.2005
Hamilton, David Labour Party Midlothian 23.02.2005
Henderson, Doug Labour Party Newcastle upon Tyne North 16.03.2005
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 22.02.2005
Jackson, Helen Labour Party Sheffield Hillsborough 21.03.2005
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 21.02.2005
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Meirionnydd Nant Conwy 23.02.2005
Mahon, Alice Labour Party Halifax 21.02.2005
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 06.04.2005
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 21.02.2005
McNamara, Kevin Labour Party Kingston upon Hull North 23.03.2005
McWilliam, John Labour Party Blaydon 22.03.2005
Mitchell, Austin Labour Party Great Grimsby 16.03.2005
Mudie, George Labour Party Leeds East 21.02.2005
O'Hara, Edward Labour Party Knowsley South 22.03.2005
Pike, Peter L Labour Party Burnley 04.04.2005
Robinson, Iris Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 22.02.2005
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 14.03.2005
Smith, Geraldine Labour Party Morecambe and Lunesdale 18.03.2005
Smith, Llew Labour Party Blaenau Gwent 21.02.2005
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Manchester Blackley 21.02.2005
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 03.03.2005
Trickett, Jon Labour Party Hemsworth 17.03.2005
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 23.02.2005
Wareing, Robert N Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 21.02.2005
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 28.02.2005
Wood, Mike Roy Labour Party Batley and Spen 04.04.2005