Early day motion 655

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


  • Session: 2004-05
  • Date tabled: 03.02.2005
  • Primary sponsor: Lazarowicz, Mark
  • Sponsors:

    That this House notes media coverage suggesting that major coffee roasting companies are planning to enter the ethical coffee market; acknowledges the concern expressed by the Fairtrade Foundation and UK development non-governmental organisations such as Oxfam that a proliferation of ethical labelling or individual company claims in relation to coffee products could result in consumer confusion; further acknowledges that sales of Fairtrade certified coffee grew by 49 per cent. last year, and that the FAIRTRADE Mark is now recognised by two in five of the UK population; congratulates all those honourable Members representing constituencies in around 300 towns and cities across the UK who have now established formal campaigns to increase public awareness of Fairtrade, and to increase demand, availability and sales of products carrying the FAIRTRADE Mark; reaffirms the commitment of the House of Commons to serving Fairtrade certified coffee, tea and other products; congratulates Marks and Spencer Cafe Revive and AMT Coffee who have recently switched to 100 per cent. Fairtrade certified coffee in response to consumer demand; believes that the major coffee roasters could make a significant contribution to increasing the overall Fairtrade market for smallholder coffee producers in developing countries; and urges them to commit to independent Fairtrade standards and certification in considering the future launch of coffee products in the UK market.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 91

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 91 out of 91

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Barnes, Harry Labour Party North East Derbyshire 04.02.2005
Barrett, John Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 01.03.2005
Beggs, Roy Ulster Unionist Party East Antrim 08.02.2005
Best, Harold Labour Party Leeds North West 08.02.2005
Borrow, David S Labour Party South Ribble 10.03.2005
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 09.02.2005
Bradley, Keith Labour Party Manchester Withington 08.02.2005
Breed, Colin Liberal Democrats South East Cornwall 08.02.2005
Brown, Russell Labour Party Dumfries 23.03.2005
Buck, Karen Labour Party Regent's Park and Kensington North 01.03.2005
Burden, Richard Labour Party Birmingham Northfield 21.02.2005
Campbell, Anne Labour Party Cambridge 28.02.2005
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 24.02.2005
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 08.02.2005
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 07.02.2005
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 04.02.2005
Cummings, John Labour Party Easington 08.02.2005
Davey, Valerie Labour Party Bristol West 22.02.2005
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 07.02.2005
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 08.02.2005
Doughty, Sue Liberal Democrats Guildford 09.02.2005
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 09.02.2005
Edwards, Huw Labour Party Monmouth 09.02.2005
Ennis, Jeff Labour Party Barnsley East and Mexborough 21.02.2005
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 25.02.2005
Fisher, Mark Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent Central 08.03.2005
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 24.02.2005
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 10.03.2005
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 07.02.2005
Gerrard, Neil Labour Party Walthamstow 10.02.2005
Gibson, Ian Labour Party Norwich North 08.02.2005
Gidley, Sandra Liberal Democrats Romsey 09.03.2005
Gill, Parmjit Singh Liberal Democrats Leicester South 10.02.2005
Griffiths, Win Labour Party Bridgend 09.02.2005
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 04.02.2005
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 10.02.2005
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 08.03.2005
Hermon, Lady Ulster Unionist Party North Down 24.02.2005
Holmes, Paul Liberal Democrats Chesterfield 07.02.2005
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 09.02.2005
Hoyle, Lindsay Labour Party Chorley 08.02.2005
Hurst, Alan Labour Party Braintree 25.02.2005
Iddon, Brian Labour Party Bolton South East 07.02.2005
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 03.03.2005
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Highgate 07.02.2005
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 03.03.2005
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 07.02.2005
Jones, Nigel Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 09.02.2005
Keetch, Paul Liberal Democrats Hereford 08.02.2005
Kidney, David Labour Party Stafford 01.03.2005
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 03.02.2005
Lepper, David Labour Party Brighton Pavilion 10.02.2005
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Meirionnydd Nant Conwy 08.02.2005
Mahon, Alice Labour Party Halifax 09.02.2005
Marris, Rob Labour Party Wolverhampton South West 08.02.2005
Marshall, David Labour Party Glasgow Shettleston 10.02.2005
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 03.03.2005
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 08.02.2005
McNamara, Kevin Labour Party Kingston upon Hull North 09.02.2005
McWalter, Tony Labour Party Hemel Hempstead 25.02.2005
Moore, Michael Liberal Democrats Tweeddale Ettrick and Lauderdale 22.02.2005
Morgan, Julie Labour Party Cardiff North 10.02.2005
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 07.02.2005
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 09.02.2005
Pike, Peter L Labour Party Burnley 23.02.2005
Prentice, Gordon Labour Party Pendle 24.02.2005
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 10.02.2005
Rapson, Syd Labour Party Portsmouth North 10.02.2005
Reed, Andy Labour Party Loughborough 10.03.2005
Robertson, Angus Scottish National Party Moray 10.03.2005
Salmond, Alex Scottish National Party Banff and Buchan 10.03.2005
Sarwar, Mohammad Labour Party Glasgow Govan 25.02.2005
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 10.02.2005
Singh, Marsha Labour Party Bradford West 21.02.2005
Smith, Llew Labour Party Blaenau Gwent 07.02.2005
Smyth, Martin Ulster Unionist Party Belfast South 07.02.2005
Stinchcombe, Paul Labour Party Wellingborough 09.02.2005
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 04.02.2005
Taylor, David Labour Party North West Leicestershire 07.02.2005
Thomas, Simon Plaid Cymru Ceredigion 07.02.2005
Tonge, Jenny Liberal Democrats Richmond Park 21.02.2005
Turner, Desmond Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 08.02.2005
Tyler, Paul Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 10.02.2005
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 09.02.2005
Wareing, Robert N Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 08.02.2005
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 23.02.2005
White, Brian Labour Party North East Milton Keynes 21.02.2005
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 21.02.2005
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Caernarfon 23.02.2005
Williams, Roger Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 25.02.2005
Wyatt, Derek Labour Party Sittingbourne and Sheppey 24.02.2005