Early day motion 187

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


  • Session: 2004-05
  • Date tabled: 25.11.2004
  • Primary sponsor: George, Andrew
  • Sponsors:

    That this House looks forward to the publication of the Office of Fair Trading audit of supplier contracts with supermarkets under the Code of Practice; recognises that the OFT report into the Code, published in February 2004, concluded that it had failed to effectively protect suppliers from unfair trading practices; agrees with the analysis of the failure of the Code set out in EDM 94 (Food Supply Code of Practice); notes with concern that the adverse effects are felt most by small and family farmers in the UK and overseas, by small independent retailers and by people without access to private transport; and calls on the Government to draw up a new strengthened and legally-binding Code of Practice with clear terms for which it is the duty of a regulatory authority to proactively monitor; to monitor and publish reports on other aspects of the grocery market; and to review the need for a Food Trade Ombudsman.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 104

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 104 out of 104

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 13.12.2004
Allan, Richard Liberal Democrats Sheffield Hallam 08.12.2004
Baker, Norman Liberal Democrats Lewes 01.12.2004
Barrett, John Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 10.01.2005
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party City of York 10.02.2005
Berry, Roger Labour Party Kingswood 16.03.2005
Best, Harold Labour Party Leeds North West 10.01.2005
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 29.11.2004
Bradley, Keith Labour Party Manchester Withington 07.02.2005
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 19.01.2005
Breed, Colin Liberal Democrats South East Cornwall 25.11.2004
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 06.12.2004
Buck, Karen Labour Party Regent's Park and Kensington North 15.03.2005
Burnett, John Liberal Democrats Torridge and West Devon 10.01.2005
Burstow, Paul Liberal Democrats Sutton and Cheam 01.12.2004
Calton, Patsy Liberal Democrats Cheadle 06.12.2004
Campbell, Anne Labour Party Cambridge 28.02.2005
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 01.12.2004
Carmichael, Alistair Liberal Democrats Orkney and Shetland 06.12.2004
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 01.12.2004
Clarke, Tony Labour Party Northampton South 06.04.2005
Cohen, Harry Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 14.12.2004
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 30.11.2004
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 16.12.2004
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 07.12.2004
Davey, Edward Liberal Democrats Kingston and Surbiton 06.12.2004
Davey, Valerie Labour Party Bristol West 20.12.2004
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 02.12.2004
Dhanda, Parmjit Labour Party Gloucester 14.12.2004
Doughty, Sue Liberal Democrats Guildford 02.03.2005
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West 25.11.2004
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 25.11.2004
Edwards, Huw Labour Party Monmouth 06.12.2004
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 06.12.2004
Ewing, Annabelle Scottish National Party Perth 08.12.2004
Farrelly, Paul Labour Party Newcastle-under-Lyme 20.12.2004
Foster, Don Liberal Democrats Bath 09.02.2005
Foster, Michael Jabez Labour Party Hastings and Rye 10.01.2005
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 25.11.2004
Gerrard, Neil Labour Party Walthamstow 06.12.2004
Gibson, Ian Labour Party Norwich North 06.12.2004
Gidley, Sandra Liberal Democrats Romsey 01.12.2004
Gill, Parmjit Singh Liberal Democrats Leicester South 06.04.2005
Green, Matthew Liberal Democrats Ludlow 24.02.2005
Greenway, John Conservative Party Ryedale 09.03.2005
Griffiths, Win Labour Party Bridgend 01.12.2004
Hamilton, Fabian Labour Party Leeds North East 04.04.2005
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 29.11.2004
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 30.11.2004
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 03.02.2005
Holmes, Paul Liberal Democrats Chesterfield 29.11.2004
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 31.01.2005
Hughes, Simon Liberal Democrats North Southwark and Bermondsey 02.12.2004
Hunter, Andrew Independent Conservative Basingstoke 01.03.2005
Hurst, Alan Labour Party Braintree 30.11.2004
Jackson, Robert Labour Party Wantage 04.03.2005
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 04.03.2005
Jones, Nigel Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 02.12.2004
Keetch, Paul Liberal Democrats Hereford 30.11.2004
Kidney, David Labour Party Stafford 30.11.2004
King, Andy Labour Party Rugby and Kenilworth 21.02.2005
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 23.02.2005
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Meirionnydd Nant Conwy 29.11.2004
Marris, Rob Labour Party Wolverhampton South West 30.11.2004
Marsden, Paul Liberal Democrats Shrewsbury and Atcham 17.01.2005
Marshall-Andrews, Robert Labour Party Medway 08.12.2004
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 01.12.2004
Mates, Michael Conservative Party East Hampshire 12.01.2005
McCafferty, Chris Labour Party Calder Valley 07.12.2004
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 30.11.2004
McWalter, Tony Labour Party Hemel Hempstead 25.02.2005
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 02.12.2004
Moore, Michael Liberal Democrats Tweeddale Ettrick and Lauderdale 02.12.2004
Murphy, Denis Labour Party Wansbeck 05.04.2005
Olner, Bill Labour Party Nuneaton 23.03.2005
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 02.12.2004
Perham, Linda Labour Party Ilford North 21.02.2005
Price, Adam Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 02.12.2004
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 07.12.2004
Reed, Andy Labour Party Loughborough 07.12.2004
Robertson, Angus Scottish National Party Moray 25.01.2005
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 06.12.2004
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 30.11.2004
Russell, Christine Labour Party City of Chester 04.02.2005
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 30.11.2004
Sedgemore, Brian Labour Party Hackney South and Shoreditch 08.12.2004
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 13.12.2004
Singh, Marsha Labour Party Bradford West 02.12.2004
Smith, Chris Labour Party Islington South and Finsbury 16.03.2005
Smyth, Martin Ulster Unionist Party Belfast South 30.11.2004
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 02.12.2004
Taylor, David Labour Party North West Leicestershire 29.11.2004
Thomas, Simon Plaid Cymru Ceredigion 30.11.2004
Thurso, John Liberal Democrats Caithness Sutherland and Easter Ross 09.12.2004
Tipping, Paddy Labour Party Sherwood 24.02.2005
Trickett, Jon Labour Party Hemsworth 13.01.2005
Truswell, Paul Labour Party Pudsey 13.12.2004
Tyler, Paul Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 02.12.2004
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 06.12.2004
Webb, Steve Liberal Democrats Northavon 09.02.2005
Wilkinson, John Conservative Party Ruislip-Northwood 06.12.2004
Williams, Roger Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 30.11.2004
Wright, Anthony D Labour Party Great Yarmouth 16.03.2005
Younger-Ross, Richard Liberal Democrats Teignbridge 07.12.2004