Early day motion 894

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


  • Session: 2003-04
  • Date tabled: 23.03.2004
  • Primary sponsor: Hoyle, Lindsay
  • Sponsors:

    That this House expresses its dismay at the cruelty involved with whale hunting; notes that the most common form of killing method involves a harpoon with explosive grenades which explode after the harpoon has penetrated the whale skin and kills the animal with shock waves; recognises that this practice takes two minutes to kill a whale and is not always successful leaving whales injured; highlights the report by the World Society for the Protection of Animals on this subject which concludes that there is no humane way to kill a whale; and calls on the Government to work with its international partners through the International Whaling Commission to ban all whale hunting.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 99

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 99 out of 99

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Amess, David Conservative Party Southend West 23.03.2004
Bailey, Adrian Labour Party West Bromwich West 25.03.2004
Baker, Norman Liberal Democrats Lewes 30.03.2004
Banks, Tony Labour Party West Ham 30.03.2004
Barnes, Harry Labour Party North East Derbyshire 25.03.2004
Barrett, John Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 04.05.2004
Best, Harold Labour Party Leeds North West 19.04.2004
Borrow, David S Labour Party South Ribble 29.03.2004
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 24.03.2004
Bradley, Keith Labour Party Manchester Withington 24.03.2004
Breed, Colin Liberal Democrats South East Cornwall 24.03.2004
Brennan, Kevin Labour Party Cardiff West 24.03.2004
Brown, Russell Labour Party Dumfries 18.06.2004
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 23.03.2004
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 25.03.2004
Chidgey, David Liberal Democrats Eastleigh 29.03.2004
Clapham, Michael Labour Party Barnsley West and Penistone 01.07.2004
Clarke, Tony Labour Party Northampton South 25.05.2004
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Falkirk East 31.03.2004
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 26.03.2004
Cox, Tom Labour Party Tooting 01.04.2004
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 23.03.2004
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 24.03.2004
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow Pollok 25.03.2004
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 01.04.2004
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 25.03.2004
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 27.04.2004
Doughty, Sue Liberal Democrats Guildford 01.04.2004
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 29.03.2004
Ennis, Jeff Labour Party Barnsley East and Mexborough 29.03.2004
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 05.05.2004
Ewing, Annabelle Scottish National Party Perth 14.07.2004
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 24.03.2004
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 24.03.2004
Griffiths, Win Labour Party Bridgend 24.03.2004
Hamilton, David Labour Party Midlothian 25.03.2004
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 23.03.2004
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 31.03.2004
Holmes, Paul Liberal Democrats Chesterfield 25.03.2004
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 29.03.2004
Hoyle, Lindsay Labour Party Chorley 23.03.2004
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 01.04.2004
Jones, Kevan Labour Party North Durham 23.03.2004
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 24.03.2004
Jones, Nigel Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 25.03.2004
Keetch, Paul Liberal Democrats Hereford 25.03.2004
Kilfoyle, Peter Labour Party Liverpool Walton 30.03.2004
Knight, Greg Conservative Party Yorkshire East 29.03.2004
Laing, Eleanor Conservative Party Epping Forest 19.04.2004
Lepper, David Labour Party Brighton Pavilion 25.03.2004
Lewis, Terry Labour Party Worsley 29.03.2004
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Meirionnydd Nant Conwy 25.03.2004
Loughton, Tim Conservative Party East Worthing and Shoreham 25.03.2004
Lucas, Ian Labour Party Wrexham 25.03.2004
Mahon, Alice Labour Party Halifax 24.03.2004
Mallaber, Judy Labour Party Amber Valley 31.03.2004
Mann, John Labour Party Bassetlaw 06.05.2004
Marris, Rob Labour Party Wolverhampton South West 31.03.2004
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 29.03.2004
Marsden, Paul Liberal Democrats Shrewsbury and Atcham 24.03.2004
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 24.03.2004
McFall, John Labour Party Dumbarton 29.03.2004
McNamara, Kevin Labour Party Kingston upon Hull North 30.03.2004
McWalter, Tony Labour Party Hemel Hempstead 24.03.2004
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 31.03.2004
Moffatt, Laura Labour Party Crawley 24.03.2004
O'Hara, Edward Labour Party Knowsley South 24.03.2004
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 30.03.2004
Pike, Peter L Labour Party Burnley 19.04.2004
Pope, Greg Labour Party Hyndburn 24.03.2004
Price, Adam Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 25.03.2004
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 01.04.2004
Purchase, Ken Labour Party Wolverhampton North East 24.03.2004
Randall, John Conservative Party Uxbridge 24.03.2004
Rapson, Syd Labour Party Portsmouth North 23.03.2004
Rosindell, Andrew Conservative Party Romford 23.03.2004
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 25.03.2004
Salmond, Alex Scottish National Party Banff and Buchan 28.06.2004
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 29.03.2004
Sarwar, Mohammad Labour Party Glasgow Govan 29.04.2004
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 01.04.2004
Singh, Marsha Labour Party Bradford West 26.03.2004
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 25.03.2004
Spink, Bob Conservative Party Castle Point 24.03.2004
Steinberg, Gerry Labour Party City of Durham 25.03.2004
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 19.04.2004
Tami, Mark Labour Party Alyn and Deeside 19.04.2004
Taylor, David Labour Party North West Leicestershire 24.03.2004
Taylor, Matthew Liberal Democrats Truro and St Austell 29.03.2004
Tonge, Jenny Liberal Democrats Richmond Park 25.03.2004
Turner, Desmond Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 23.03.2004
Tyler, Paul Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 25.03.2004
Tynan, Bill Labour Party Hamilton South 01.04.2004
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 31.03.2004
Wareing, Robert N Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 24.03.2004
Watkinson, Angela Conservative Party Upminster 24.03.2004
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 24.03.2004
White, Brian Labour Party North East Milton Keynes 23.03.2004
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 23.03.2004