Early day motion 857

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


  • Session: 2003-04
  • Date tabled: 17.03.2004
  • Primary sponsor: Mann, John
  • Sponsors:

    That this House notes the recent ballot held by the Transport and General Workers Union in which 75 per cent. voted to keep the political fund; further notes that under legislation introduced by the Conservative government in 1984, trade unions wishing to contribute to political parties or engage in other political activities must establish a political fund; further notes that each union must ballot their members every 10 years on whether to retain this fund; recognises that all individual union members have the right to opt out of paying into a political fund should they so choose; is concerned that trade unions bear an excessive financial burden in order to fulfil their natural role of representing their members interest; and believes that in light of the Transport and General Workers' Union members recent overwhelming vote in favour of retaining the union's political fund that the Government should abolish the legislation that puts such excessive burdens on trade unions.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 65

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 65 out of 65

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Barnes, Harry Labour Party North East Derbyshire 18.03.2004
Berry, Roger Labour Party Kingswood 24.06.2004
Brown, Russell Labour Party Dumfries 18.06.2004
Bryant, Chris Labour Party Rhondda 25.03.2004
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 24.03.2004
Chaytor, David Labour Party Bury North 25.03.2004
CLARK, HELEN Labour Party Peterborough 23.06.2004
Clarke, Tony Labour Party Northampton South 25.05.2004
Clelland, David Labour Party Tyne Bridge 08.07.2004
Colman, Tony Labour Party Putney 30.03.2004
Cook, Frank Labour Party Stockton North 29.06.2004
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 26.03.2004
Cox, Tom Labour Party Tooting 01.04.2004
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 17.03.2004
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 22.03.2004
Cummings, John Labour Party Easington 24.03.2004
Davey, Valerie Labour Party Bristol West 24.06.2004
David, Wayne Labour Party Caerphilly 12.07.2004
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 18.03.2004
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 18.03.2004
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 23.03.2004
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 24.03.2004
Ennis, Jeff [R] Labour Party Barnsley East and Mexborough 29.03.2004
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 26.03.2004
Fisher, Mark Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent Central 07.09.2004
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 14.07.2004
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 24.03.2004
Gibson, Ian Labour Party Norwich North 22.03.2004
Hamilton, David Labour Party Midlothian 25.03.2004
Hermon, Lady Ulster Unionist Party North Down 15.06.2004
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 16.09.2004
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 18.03.2004
Hoyle, Lindsay Labour Party Chorley 17.03.2004
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 01.04.2004
Jones, Martyn Labour Party Clwyd South 07.09.2004
King, Andy Labour Party Rugby and Kenilworth 16.07.2004
Lepper, David Labour Party Brighton Pavilion 23.03.2004
Lewis, Terry Labour Party Worsley 29.03.2004
Lyons, John Labour Party Strathkelvin and Bearsden 23.03.2004
Mann, John Labour Party Bassetlaw 17.03.2004
Marshall-Andrews, Robert Labour Party Medway 29.06.2004
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 24.03.2004
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 28.06.2004
McNamara, Kevin Labour Party Kingston upon Hull North 23.03.2004
McWalter, Tony Labour Party Hemel Hempstead 24.03.2004
Pike, Peter L Labour Party Burnley 22.03.2004
Pollard, Kerry Labour Party St Albans 22.07.2004
Pope, Greg Labour Party Hyndburn 24.03.2004
Purchase, Ken Labour Party Wolverhampton North East 24.03.2004
Rapson, Syd Labour Party Portsmouth North 30.03.2004
Salter, Martin Labour Party Reading West 07.09.2004
Sawford, Phil Labour Party Kettering 24.06.2004
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party West Renfrewshire 22.03.2004
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 18.03.2004
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 24.03.2004
Smith, Geraldine Labour Party Morecambe and Lunesdale 17.03.2004
Steinberg, Gerry Labour Party City of Durham 25.03.2004
Stevenson, George Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent South 07.07.2004
Taylor, David Labour Party North West Leicestershire 24.03.2004
Tynan, Bill Labour Party Hamilton South 01.04.2004
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 31.03.2004
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 05.07.2004
Wareing, Robert N Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 23.03.2004
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 29.03.2004
Wood, Mike Roy Labour Party Batley and Spen 30.03.2004