Early day motion 330

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


  • Session: 2003-04
  • Date tabled: 18.12.2003
  • Primary sponsor: Hinchliffe, David
  • Sponsors:

    That this House warmly welcomes the establishment of Amicale Parlementaire du Rugby a Treize, a Rugby League Parliamentary Association in France; recalls that, in one of the most disgraceful episodes in sporting history, rugby league in that country was banned as a sport by the Vichy Government, its assets being removed and never returned; notes that the French Government's recent commission of inquiry into sport during the Occupation confirmed the injustice suffered by the treizistes; is concerned that the question of reparation has not so far been addressed; further notes that the European Commission has written to the French Government about discrimination against rugby league; welcomes the new Association's efforts to lift the ban on the sport being played in certain municipal stadia and campaign for its introduction into the curriculum for future PE teachers; wishes the Association well in its efforts on behalf of rugby league; and calls upon the British Government to support the European Commission's representations to the French Government.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 37

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 37 out of 37

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Battle, John Labour Party Leeds West 07.01.2004
Best, Harold Labour Party Leeds North West 18.12.2003
Bradley, Keith Labour Party Manchester Withington 06.01.2004
Burgon, Colin Labour Party Elmet 06.01.2004
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 06.01.2004
Clapham, Michael Labour Party Barnsley West and Penistone 07.01.2004
Clappison, James Conservative Party Hertsmere 18.12.2003
Cook, Frank Labour Party Stockton North 07.01.2004
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 12.01.2004
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 06.01.2004
Cunningham, Tony Labour Party Workington 18.12.2003
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow Pollok 08.01.2004
Ennis, Jeff Labour Party Barnsley East and Mexborough 18.12.2003
Griffiths, Jane Labour Party Reading East 05.01.2004
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 07.01.2004
Havard, Dai Labour Party Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney 18.12.2003
Hinchliffe, David Labour Party Wakefield 18.12.2003
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 07.01.2004
Hoyle, Lindsay Labour Party Chorley 18.12.2003
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 06.01.2004
Jones, Nigel Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 14.01.2004
Mahon, Alice Labour Party Halifax 18.12.2003
Marsden, Paul Liberal Democrats Shrewsbury and Atcham 12.01.2004
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 18.12.2003
McCafferty, Chris Labour Party Calder Valley 18.12.2003
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 06.01.2004
McNamara, Kevin Labour Party Kingston upon Hull North 07.01.2004
Pickthall, Colin Labour Party West Lancashire 08.01.2004
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 08.01.2004
Singh, Marsha Labour Party Bradford West 18.12.2003
Spink, Bob Conservative Party Castle Point 06.01.2004
Steinberg, Gerry Labour Party City of Durham 18.12.2003
Thomas, Simon Plaid Cymru Ceredigion 06.01.2004
Turner, Desmond Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 18.12.2003
Turner, Neil Labour Party Wigan 18.12.2003
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 07.01.2004
Wyatt, Derek Labour Party Sittingbourne and Sheppey 18.12.2003