Early day motion 318

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


  • Session: 2003-04
  • Date tabled: 17.12.2003
  • Primary sponsor: Mahon, Alice
  • Sponsors:

    That this House is dismayed and appalled at death threats made against road safety campaigners on motoring websites by drivers opposed to speed cameras; notes that descending to such depths of personal harassment and other illegalities such as vandalism of cameras is anti-social, offensive and shocking; further notes that such illegality is being fuelled by anti-camera articles in the national media, including BBC's Top Gear, The Sun, News of the World, The Telegraph and others, who are being fed misleading information by speed bullies such as the Association of British Drivers and Safe Speeds; and calls on the Government urgently to publish more data about speed cameras in the safety camera partnerships, particularly relating to their effectiveness at reducing casualties, to support evidence published this year that the pilot partnerships achieved casualty reductions of 35 per cent. at the speed camera sites.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 93

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 93 out of 93

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 17.12.2003
Bailey, Adrian Labour Party West Bromwich West 21.01.2004
Barnes, Harry Labour Party North East Derbyshire 18.12.2003
Barrett, John Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 13.01.2004
Bottomley, Peter [R] Conservative Party Worthing West 02.02.2004
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 30.01.2004
Brown, Russell Labour Party Dumfries 18.06.2004
Burgon, Colin Labour Party Elmet 17.12.2003
Burstow, Paul Liberal Democrats Sutton and Cheam 02.02.2004
Cable, Vincent Liberal Democrats Twickenham 14.01.2004
Calton, Patsy Liberal Democrats Cheadle 04.02.2004
Campbell, Anne Labour Party Cambridge 26.02.2004
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 07.01.2004
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 06.01.2004
Challen, Colin Labour Party Morley and Rothwell 06.01.2004
CLARK, HELEN Labour Party Peterborough 02.02.2004
Clarke, Tony Labour Party Northampton South 18.12.2003
Clwyd, Ann Labour Party Cynon Valley 17.12.2003
Cohen, Harry Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 08.01.2004
Colman, Tony Labour Party Putney 07.01.2004
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Falkirk East 27.01.2004
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 17.12.2003
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 06.01.2004
Davey, Valerie Labour Party Bristol West 07.01.2004
David, Wayne Labour Party Caerphilly 17.12.2003
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow Pollok 08.01.2004
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 06.01.2004
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 06.01.2004
Doughty, Sue Liberal Democrats Guildford 05.03.2004
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West 03.02.2004
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 07.01.2004
Drown, Julia Labour Party South Swindon 12.01.2004
Dunwoody, Gwyneth Labour Party Crewe and Nantwich 03.02.2004
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 19.01.2004
Foster, Don Liberal Democrats Bath 29.01.2004
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 18.12.2003
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 08.03.2004
Gidley, Sandra Liberal Democrats Romsey 05.01.2004
Griffiths, Win Labour Party Bridgend 12.02.2004
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 07.01.2004
Harris, Evan Liberal Democrats Oxford West and Abingdon 19.04.2004
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 28.01.2004
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 17.12.2003
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 08.01.2004
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 18.12.2003
Jones, Nigel Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 14.01.2004
Khabra, Piara S Labour Party Ealing Southall 07.01.2004
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 17.12.2003
Lepper, David Labour Party Brighton Pavilion 06.02.2004
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 06.02.2004
Lucas, Ian Labour Party Wrexham 17.12.2003
Lyons, John Labour Party Strathkelvin and Bearsden 17.12.2003
Mahon, Alice Labour Party Halifax 17.12.2003
Marris, Rob Labour Party Wolverhampton South West 18.12.2003
Marshall-Andrews, Robert Labour Party Medway 03.02.2004
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 16.03.2004
McCafferty, Chris Labour Party Calder Valley 17.12.2003
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 06.01.2004
McNamara, Kevin Labour Party Kingston upon Hull North 17.12.2003
McWilliam, John Labour Party Blaydon 03.02.2004
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 18.12.2003
Mole, Chris Labour Party Ipswich 03.03.2004
Morgan, Julie Labour Party Cardiff North 17.12.2003
Murphy, Denis Labour Party Wansbeck 03.02.2004
Olner, Bill Labour Party Nuneaton 28.01.2004
O'Neill, Martin Labour Party Ochil 29.01.2004
Organ, Diana Labour Party Forest of Dean 03.02.2004
Prosser, Gwyn Labour Party Dover 18.05.2004
Rapson, Syd Labour Party Portsmouth North 06.01.2004
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 29.01.2004
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 11.02.2004
Russell, Christine Labour Party City of Chester 07.01.2004
Sarwar, Mohammad Labour Party Glasgow Govan 04.03.2004
Sawford, Phil Labour Party Kettering 04.02.2004
Sedgemore, Brian Labour Party Hackney South and Shoreditch 17.12.2003
Sheerman, Barry Labour Party Huddersfield 23.02.2004
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 18.12.2003
Singh, Marsha Labour Party Bradford West 17.12.2003
Smith, Chris Labour Party Islington South and Finsbury 13.01.2004
Stevenson, George Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent South 12.02.2004
Stinchcombe, Paul Labour Party Wellingborough 12.01.2004
Taylor, David Labour Party North West Leicestershire 17.12.2003
Thomas, Simon Plaid Cymru Ceredigion 06.01.2004
Thurso, John Liberal Democrats Caithness Sutherland and Easter Ross 04.02.2004
Tonge, Jenny Liberal Democrats Richmond Park 08.01.2004
Tyler, Paul Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 18.12.2003
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 07.01.2004
White, Brian Labour Party North East Milton Keynes 05.01.2004
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 17.12.2003
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Caernarfon 02.02.2004
Wood, Mike Roy Labour Party Batley and Spen 05.01.2004
Worthington, Tony Labour Party Clydebank and Milngavie 29.01.2004
Wyatt, Derek Labour Party Sittingbourne and Sheppey 28.01.2004