Early day motion 297

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


  • Session: 2003-04
  • Date tabled: 16.12.2003
  • Primary sponsor: Turner, Desmond
  • Sponsors:

    That this House regrets that the planned Housing Bill does not include legislation for a nationwide mandatory Tenancy Deposit Scheme despite the fact that the private rented sector accommodates about 10 per cent. of households in England, that 70 per cent. of the 2.21 million tenants in the sector have paid a deposit, that the average deposit is around ú510, that although most tenancies end without dispute, around 20 per cent. of households say that part or all of the deposit from their most recent tenancy was unreasonably withheld and that few private landlords have participated in the voluntary tenancy deposit schemes being piloted; and believes that a nationwide mandatory scheme administered by the Independent Housing Ombudsman is the only way to safeguard deposits and guarantee prompt settlement of disputes.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 109

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 109 out of 109

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Allen, Graham Labour Party Nottingham North 16.12.2003
Bailey, Adrian Labour Party West Bromwich West 16.12.2003
Baird, Vera Labour Party Redcar 16.12.2003
Baker, Norman Liberal Democrats Lewes 18.12.2003
Baldry, Tony Conservative Party Banbury 17.12.2003
Barrett, John Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 13.01.2004
Battle, John Labour Party Leeds West 16.12.2003
Bennett, Andrew Labour Party Denton and Reddish 23.03.2004
Berry, Roger Labour Party Kingswood 23.02.2004
Best, Harold Labour Party Leeds North West 05.01.2004
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield Attercliffe 16.12.2003
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 16.12.2003
Bradley, Keith Labour Party Manchester Withington 05.01.2004
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 16.12.2003
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 06.01.2004
Bryant, Chris Labour Party Rhondda 17.12.2003
Buck, Karen Labour Party Regent's Park and Kensington North 06.01.2004
Cable, Vincent Liberal Democrats Twickenham 05.01.2004
Calton, Patsy Liberal Democrats Cheadle 16.12.2003
Campbell, Anne Labour Party Cambridge 16.12.2003
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 16.12.2003
Clapham, Michael Labour Party Barnsley West and Penistone 18.12.2003
Cohen, Harry Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 16.12.2003
Colman, Tony Labour Party Putney 05.01.2004
Cook, Frank Labour Party Stockton North 16.12.2003
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 18.12.2003
Cotter, Brian Liberal Democrats Weston-super-Mare 08.01.2004
Cranston, Ross Labour Party Dudley North 16.12.2003
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 07.01.2004
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 06.01.2004
Cryer, John Labour Party Hornchurch 15.01.2004
Cummings, John Labour Party Easington 17.12.2003
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 17.12.2003
Davey, Valerie Labour Party Bristol West 16.12.2003
Dawson, Hilton Labour Party Lancaster and Wyre 05.02.2004
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 16.12.2003
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 17.12.2003
Doughty, Sue Liberal Democrats Guildford 16.12.2003
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 07.01.2004
Drown, Julia Labour Party South Swindon 27.02.2004
Edwards, Huw Labour Party Monmouth 08.01.2004
Ennis, Jeff Labour Party Barnsley East and Mexborough 17.12.2003
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 19.01.2004
Fisher, Mark Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent Central 16.12.2003
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 16.12.2003
Follett, Barbara Labour Party Stevenage 05.03.2004
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 16.12.2003
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 17.12.2003
Gerrard, Neil Labour Party Walthamstow 16.12.2003
Gibson, Ian Labour Party Norwich North 17.12.2003
Gidley, Sandra Liberal Democrats Romsey 05.01.2004
Green, Matthew Liberal Democrats Ludlow 07.01.2004
Griffiths, Win Labour Party Bridgend 17.12.2003
Grogan, John Labour Party Selby 22.04.2004
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 16.12.2003
Harris, Evan Liberal Democrats Oxford West and Abingdon 16.12.2003
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 16.12.2003
Holmes, Paul Liberal Democrats Chesterfield 17.12.2003
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 07.01.2004
Iddon, Brian Labour Party Bolton South East 16.12.2003
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 18.12.2003
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Highgate 18.12.2003
Jones, Jon Owen Labour Party Cardiff Central 03.03.2004
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 17.12.2003
Jones, Nigel Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 14.01.2004
Kilfoyle, Peter Labour Party Liverpool Walton 16.12.2003
Lepper, David Labour Party Brighton Pavilion 18.12.2003
Luke, Iain Labour Party Dundee East 16.12.2003
Marris, Rob Labour Party Wolverhampton South West 18.12.2003
Marsden, Paul Liberal Democrats Shrewsbury and Atcham 12.01.2004
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 16.03.2004
McCafferty, Chris Labour Party Calder Valley 17.12.2003
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 17.12.2003
McNamara, Kevin Labour Party Kingston upon Hull North 17.12.2003
McWalter, Tony Labour Party Hemel Hempstead 15.03.2004
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 18.12.2003
Mitchell, Austin Labour Party Great Grimsby 16.12.2003
Mole, Chris Labour Party Ipswich 20.01.2004
Naysmith, Doug Labour Party Bristol North West 18.12.2003
O'Hara, Edward Labour Party Knowsley South 17.12.2003
O'Neill, Martin Labour Party Ochil 29.01.2004
Plaskitt, James Labour Party Warwick and Leamington 17.12.2003
Pollard, Kerry Labour Party St Albans 05.02.2004
Pope, Greg Labour Party Hyndburn 16.12.2003
Prentice, Gordon Labour Party Pendle 16.12.2003
Prosser, Gwyn Labour Party Dover 16.12.2003
Rapson, Syd Labour Party Portsmouth North 16.12.2003
Ruane, Chris Labour Party Vale of Clwyd 16.12.2003
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 16.12.2003
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 16.12.2003
Sarwar, Mohammad Labour Party Glasgow Govan 12.01.2004
Sawford, Phil Labour Party Kettering 16.12.2003
Sedgemore, Brian Labour Party Hackney South and Shoreditch 16.12.2003
Simon, Sion Labour Party Birmingham Erdington 16.12.2003
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 18.12.2003
Singh, Marsha Labour Party Bradford West 05.01.2004
Smyth, Martin Ulster Unionist Party Belfast South 17.12.2003
Spink, Bob Conservative Party Castle Point 18.12.2003
Stinchcombe, Paul Labour Party Wellingborough 12.01.2004
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 12.02.2004
Taylor, Teddy Conservative Party Rochford and Southend East 24.03.2004
Teather, Sarah Liberal Democrats Brent East 19.04.2004
Thomas, Simon Plaid Cymru Ceredigion 16.12.2003
Turner, Desmond Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 16.12.2003
Tyler, Paul Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 18.12.2003
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 16.12.2003
White, Brian Labour Party North East Milton Keynes 16.12.2003
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 05.01.2004
Wyatt, Derek Labour Party Sittingbourne and Sheppey 06.01.2004