Early day motion 294

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


  • Session: 2003-04
  • Date tabled: 16.12.2003
  • Primary sponsor: Crausby, David
  • Sponsors:

    That this House is aware of the recent sterling work carried out by the employees and management staff of the Royal Mail which has resulted in the turn around of both of its business interests and financial position; is therefore alarmed that following these efforts, which have moved the company into surplus profits influenced not least by record Christmas deliveries of mail, an announcement should be made of a review of managerial positions, which could lead to the loss of up to 3,000 jobs and extra pressure on remaining managers; and calls upon the Royal Mail and its Chairman Allan Leighton to consult fully and meaningfully with the recognised trade unions with a view to reaching agreement without resorting to compulsory redundancies which ensures there is a sustainable and viable management structure capable of meeting the future needs of Britain's postal service and changing the culture and performance of the organisation.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 56

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 56 out of 56

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Barnes, Harry Labour Party North East Derbyshire 17.12.2003
Bradley, Keith Labour Party Manchester Withington 16.12.2003
Brown, Russell Labour Party Dumfries 18.06.2004
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 07.01.2004
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 17.12.2003
CLARK, HELEN Labour Party Peterborough 09.02.2004
Clarke, Tony Labour Party Northampton South 18.12.2003
Colman, Tony Labour Party Putney 07.01.2004
Cook, Frank Labour Party Stockton North 17.12.2003
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 12.01.2004
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 16.12.2003
Cruddas, Jon Labour Party Dagenham 08.01.2004
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 06.01.2004
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 07.01.2004
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow Pollok 16.12.2003
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 08.01.2004
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 17.12.2003
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 17.12.2003
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 07.01.2004
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 19.01.2004
Farrelly, Paul Labour Party Newcastle-under-Lyme 16.12.2003
Gibson, Ian Labour Party Norwich North 16.12.2003
Griffiths, Win Labour Party Bridgend 17.12.2003
Hamilton, David Labour Party Midlothian 20.01.2004
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 17.12.2003
Havard, Dai Labour Party Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney 16.12.2003
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 28.01.2004
Hermon, Lady Ulster Unionist Party North Down 14.01.2004
Hood, Jim Labour Party Clydesdale 16.12.2003
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 07.01.2004
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley North and Sefton East 16.12.2003
Hoyle, Lindsay Labour Party Chorley 16.12.2003
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 18.12.2003
Mahmood, Khalid Labour Party Birmingham Perry Barr 16.12.2003
Marris, Rob Labour Party Wolverhampton South West 18.12.2003
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 05.01.2004
McCafferty, Chris Labour Party Calder Valley 17.12.2003
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 17.12.2003
McNamara, Kevin Labour Party Kingston upon Hull North 17.12.2003
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 16.12.2003
Mole, Chris Labour Party Ipswich 25.02.2004
Mudie, George Labour Party Leeds East 04.02.2004
Olner, Bill Labour Party Nuneaton 16.12.2003
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 15.01.2004
Perham, Linda Labour Party Ilford North 05.01.2004
Rapson, Syd Labour Party Portsmouth North 16.12.2003
Robertson, John Labour Party Glasgow Anniesland 16.12.2003
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 18.12.2003
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 18.12.2003
Smith, Llew Labour Party Blaenau Gwent 08.01.2004
Smyth, Martin Ulster Unionist Party Belfast South 17.12.2003
Todd, Mark Labour Party South Derbyshire 16.12.2003
Turner, Dennis Labour Party Wolverhampton South East 22.01.2004
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 16.12.2003
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 05.01.2004
Wyatt, Derek Labour Party Sittingbourne and Sheppey 06.01.2004