Early day motion 840

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is deeply troubled that OFTEL's decision on access arrangements to Directory enquiry services, which have led BT to advise that a large part of its '192' operations will be transferred to India, could lead to an even greater transfer of customer contact work in other sectors such as finance, travel and tourism, which will leave regions that are dependent on customer service expansion as a means to regeneration in a vulnerable position; and calls upon the Government to ask the telecommunications regulator OFTEL to reconsider its decision.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 107

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 107 out of 107

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Austin, John Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 14.03.2003
Barnes, Harry Labour Party North East Derbyshire 06.03.2003
Battle, John Labour Party Leeds West 25.03.2003
Benton, Joe Labour Party Bootle 13.03.2003
Blizzard, Bob Labour Party Waveney 25.03.2003
Borrow, David S Labour Party South Ribble 17.03.2003
Burgon, Colin Labour Party Elmet 31.03.2003
Burnham, Andy Labour Party Leigh 02.04.2003
Campbell, Anne Labour Party Cambridge 01.04.2003
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 12.03.2003
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 10.03.2003
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 27.03.2003
Challen, Colin Labour Party Morley and Rothwell 25.03.2003
Clapham, Michael Labour Party Barnsley West and Penistone 13.03.2003
CLARK, HELEN Labour Party Peterborough 27.03.2003
Clwyd, Ann Labour Party Cynon Valley 25.03.2003
Cohen, Harry Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 25.03.2003
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Falkirk East 10.03.2003
Cook, Frank Labour Party Stockton North 28.03.2003
Cranston, Ross Labour Party Dudley North 25.03.2003
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 10.03.2003
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 27.03.2003
Cunningham, Tony Labour Party Workington 31.03.2003
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow Pollok 27.03.2003
Davis, Terry Labour Party Birmingham Hodge Hill 10.03.2003
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 27.03.2003
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 12.03.2003
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 26.03.2003
Dobson, Frank Labour Party Holborn and St Pancras 26.03.2003
Donohoe, Brian H Labour Party Cunninghame South 25.03.2003
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen Central 03.04.2003
Dunwoody, Gwyneth Labour Party Crewe and Nantwich 25.03.2003
Eagle, Angela Labour Party Wallasey 02.04.2003
Ellman, Louise Labour Party Liverpool Riverside 27.03.2003
Ennis, Jeff Labour Party Barnsley East and Mexborough 10.03.2003
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 12.03.2003
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 13.03.2003
Follett, Barbara Labour Party Stevenage 08.04.2003
Foster, Derek Labour Party Bishop Auckland 27.03.2003
Gibson, Ian Labour Party Norwich North 05.03.2003
Hall, Patrick Labour Party Bedford 08.04.2003
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 06.03.2003
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 07.04.2003
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 28.03.2003
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 25.03.2003
Hoey, Kate Labour Party Vauxhall 05.03.2003
Hoyle, Lindsay Labour Party Chorley 14.03.2003
Humble, Joan Labour Party Blackpool North and Fleetwood 25.03.2003
Iddon, Brian Labour Party Bolton South East 26.03.2003
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 11.03.2003
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 28.03.2003
Jones, Helen Labour Party Warrington North 31.03.2003
Jones, Kevan Labour Party North Durham 26.03.2003
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 07.03.2003
Jones, Martyn Labour Party Clwyd South 28.03.2003
Jones, Nigel Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 02.04.2003
Keen, Alan Labour Party Feltham and Heston 07.04.2003
King, Andy Labour Party Rugby and Kenilworth 09.04.2003
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 26.03.2003
Lepper, David Labour Party Brighton Pavilion 01.05.2003
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 27.03.2003
Luke, Iain Labour Party Dundee East 02.04.2003
Lyons, John Labour Party Strathkelvin and Bearsden 17.03.2003
Macdonald, Calum Labour Party Western Isles 02.04.2003
Mahmood, Khalid Labour Party Birmingham Perry Barr 25.03.2003
Mahon, Alice Labour Party Halifax 26.03.2003
Mann, John Labour Party Bassetlaw 25.03.2003
Marris, Rob Labour Party Wolverhampton South West 18.03.2003
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 11.03.2003
Marsden, Paul Liberal Democrats Shrewsbury and Atcham 18.03.2003
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 28.04.2003
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 03.04.2003
McNamara, Kevin Labour Party Kingston upon Hull North 13.03.2003
McWilliam, John Labour Party Blaydon 05.03.2003
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 07.04.2003
Mitchell, Austin Labour Party Great Grimsby 27.03.2003
Morgan, Julie Labour Party Cardiff North 01.04.2003
Mudie, George Labour Party Leeds East 25.03.2003
Murphy, Denis Labour Party Wansbeck 11.03.2003
O'Brien, William Labour Party Normanton 27.03.2003
O'Hara, Edward Labour Party Knowsley South 08.05.2003
Olner, Bill Labour Party Nuneaton 25.03.2003
Pike, Peter L Labour Party Burnley 02.04.2003
Rapson, Syd Labour Party Portsmouth North 25.03.2003
Ross, Ernie Labour Party Dundee West 31.03.2003
Roy, Frank Labour Party Motherwell and Wishaw 25.03.2003
Sarwar, Mohammad Labour Party Glasgow Govan 19.03.2003
Sawford, Phil Labour Party Kettering 03.04.2003
Sheerman, Barry Labour Party Huddersfield 04.04.2003
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party West Renfrewshire 12.03.2003
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 20.03.2003
Singh, Marsha Labour Party Bradford West 26.03.2003
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 07.03.2003
Smith, Chris Labour Party Islington South and Finsbury 05.03.2003
Smith, Geraldine Labour Party Morecambe and Lunesdale 05.03.2003
Steinberg, Gerry Labour Party City of Durham 29.04.2003
Strang, Gavin Labour Party Edinburgh East and Musselburgh 28.03.2003
Taylor, David Labour Party North West Leicestershire 27.03.2003
Thomas, Simon Plaid Cymru Ceredigion 10.03.2003
Tipping, Paddy Labour Party Sherwood 25.03.2003
Trickett, Jon Labour Party Hemsworth 27.03.2003
Turner, Desmond Labour Party Brighton Kemptown 31.03.2003
Tynan, Bill Labour Party Hamilton South 20.03.2003
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 12.03.2003
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 31.03.2003
Wishart, Pete Scottish National Party North Tayside 31.03.2003
Worthington, Tony Labour Party Clydebank and Milngavie 02.04.2003