Early day motion 1711

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


  • Session: 2002-03
  • Date tabled: 17.09.2003
  • Primary sponsor: Martlew, Eric
  • Sponsors:

    That this House condemns the recent decision by BSkyB to increase its subscription rates to pubs and clubs by a staggering 18 per cent. which will have a serious impact on those which screen live sport, particularly Premiership football; notes that the sports viewing market is a vital element for the viability of many businesses, attracting a distinct target audience which would not be attracted to pubs by other entertainment; condemns the increase which is about seven times the current rate of inflation and is a total abuse of BSkyB's monopoly position; welcomes the intention of the Office of Fair Trading to assess the situation to establish whether there is an infringement of the Competition Act 1998.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 44

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 44 out of 44

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Barnes, Harry Labour Party North East Derbyshire 16.10.2003
Barrett, John Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 03.11.2003
Best, Harold Labour Party Leeds North West 14.10.2003
Breed, Colin Liberal Democrats South East Cornwall 16.10.2003
Brown, Russell Labour Party Dumfries 29.10.2003
Cable, Vincent Liberal Democrats Twickenham 18.09.2003
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 15.10.2003
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 14.10.2003
Chaytor, David Labour Party Bury North 18.09.2003
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 22.10.2003
Dawson, Hilton Labour Party Lancaster and Wyre 17.09.2003
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 20.10.2003
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 15.10.2003
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 18.09.2003
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 18.09.2003
Ennis, Jeff Labour Party Barnsley East and Mexborough 14.10.2003
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 30.10.2003
Green, Matthew Liberal Democrats Ludlow 19.11.2003
Grogan, John Labour Party Selby 14.10.2003
Hamilton, David Labour Party Midlothian 15.10.2003
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 15.10.2003
Holmes, Paul Liberal Democrats Chesterfield 14.10.2003
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 16.10.2003
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 14.10.2003
Jones, Nigel Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 03.11.2003
Keetch, Paul Liberal Democrats Hereford 20.10.2003
Marris, Rob Labour Party Wolverhampton South West 21.10.2003
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 17.09.2003
McNamara, Kevin Labour Party Kingston upon Hull North 14.10.2003
Naysmith, Doug Labour Party Bristol North West 14.10.2003
O'Hara, Edward Labour Party Knowsley South 15.10.2003
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 18.09.2003
Purchase, Ken Labour Party Wolverhampton North East 17.09.2003
Sawford, Phil Labour Party Kettering 17.09.2003
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 03.11.2003
Singh, Marsha Labour Party Bradford West 10.11.2003
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 18.09.2003
Taylor, David Labour Party North West Leicestershire 17.09.2003
Thomas, Simon Plaid Cymru Ceredigion 16.10.2003
Tonge, Jenny Liberal Democrats Richmond Park 18.09.2003
Turner, Dennis Labour Party Wolverhampton South East 17.09.2003
Tyler, Paul Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 18.09.2003
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 14.10.2003
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 20.10.2003