Early day motion 1120

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


  • Session: 2002-03
  • Date tabled: 30.04.2003
  • Primary sponsor: Barnes, Harry
  • Sponsors:

    That this House recalls that on May Day 1959 the Iraqi Labour Movement mobilised one million people out of the then population of 14 million for a massive march in Baghdad to celebrate International Workers' Day; sends its heartfelt solidarity to the Workers' Democratic Trade Union Movement in the Iraqi Republic on the occasion on 1st May 2003 of the first free labour movement march since the demise of Saddam Hussein's dictatorship; further notes that the Iraqi trade union movement is working for the creation of a unified, federal and democratic Iraq that transcends religious, ethnic and nationalist divisions and also guarantees political and trade union rights, which were denied by the Ba'athist regime and its bogus trade union machine; and supports their call for the transfer of power from the occupying forces to an interim and broadly based coalition government which could remove the remnants of Saddam's dictatorship and prepare a permanent constitution which would provide the basis for free and fair elections under the direct supervision of the United Nations.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 74

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 74 out of 74

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Barnes, Harry Labour Party North East Derbyshire 30.04.2003
Beggs, Roy Ulster Unionist Party East Antrim 08.05.2003
Berry, Roger Labour Party Kingswood 22.05.2003
Best, Harold Labour Party Leeds North West 03.06.2003
Borrow, David S Labour Party South Ribble 20.05.2003
Bradley, Peter Labour Party The Wrekin 12.05.2003
Brennan, Kevin Labour Party Cardiff West 07.05.2003
Burden, Richard Labour Party Birmingham Northfield 12.05.2003
Cairns, David Labour Party Greenock and Inverclyde 08.05.2003
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 07.05.2003
Clarke, Tony Labour Party Northampton South 15.05.2003
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 06.05.2003
Cox, Tom Labour Party Tooting 01.05.2003
Cruddas, Jon Labour Party Dagenham 15.05.2003
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 06.05.2003
Cryer, John Labour Party Hornchurch 06.05.2003
Cummings, John Labour Party Easington 06.05.2003
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow Pollok 07.05.2003
Davies, Denzil Labour Party Llanelli 07.05.2003
Davis, Terry Labour Party Birmingham Hodge Hill 06.05.2003
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 01.05.2003
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 07.05.2003
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 01.05.2003
Edwards, Huw Labour Party Monmouth 06.05.2003
Efford, Clive Labour Party Eltham 07.05.2003
Ellman, Louise Labour Party Liverpool Riverside 15.05.2003
Ennis, Jeff Labour Party Barnsley East and Mexborough 06.05.2003
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 19.05.2003
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 08.05.2003
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 07.05.2003
Griffiths, Win Labour Party Bridgend 07.05.2003
Grogan, John Labour Party Selby 13.05.2003
Hamilton, David Labour Party Midlothian 09.06.2003
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 06.05.2003
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 21.05.2003
Iddon, Brian Labour Party Bolton South East 06.05.2003
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 07.05.2003
Irranca-Davies, Huw Labour Party Ogmore 14.05.2003
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 06.05.2003
Jones, Nigel Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 22.05.2003
Kilfoyle, Peter Labour Party Liverpool Walton 13.05.2003
Linton, Martin Labour Party Battersea 07.05.2003
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Meirionnydd Nant Conwy 12.05.2003
Lyons, John Labour Party Strathkelvin and Bearsden 07.05.2003
MacDougall, John Labour Party Central Fife 07.05.2003
Mahon, Alice Labour Party Halifax 06.05.2003
Marris, Rob Labour Party Wolverhampton South West 12.05.2003
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 07.05.2003
McCafferty, Chris Labour Party Calder Valley 20.05.2003
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 08.05.2003
McNamara, Kevin Labour Party Kingston upon Hull North 07.05.2003
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 08.05.2003
Moffatt, Laura Labour Party Crawley 07.05.2003
Morgan, Julie Labour Party Cardiff North 19.05.2003
Naysmith, Doug Labour Party Bristol North West 07.05.2003
O'Hara, Edward Labour Party Knowsley South 08.05.2003
Perham, Linda Labour Party Ilford North 12.05.2003
Prentice, Gordon Labour Party Pendle 07.05.2003
Price, Adam Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 08.05.2003
Rapson, Syd Labour Party Portsmouth North 07.05.2003
Robertson, John Labour Party Glasgow Anniesland 07.05.2003
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 06.05.2003
Savidge, Malcolm Labour Party Aberdeen North 15.05.2003
Shaw, Jonathan Labour Party Chatham and Aylesford 07.05.2003
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party West Renfrewshire 07.05.2003
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 08.05.2003
Smith, Llew Labour Party Blaenau Gwent 07.05.2003
Smyth, Martin Ulster Unionist Party Belfast South 01.05.2003
Stewart, David Labour Party Inverness East Nairn and Lochaber 07.05.2003
Taylor, David Labour Party North West Leicestershire 07.05.2003
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 20.05.2003
Wareing, Robert N Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 06.05.2003
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 12.05.2003
Wyatt, Derek Labour Party Sittingbourne and Sheppey 07.05.2003