Early day motion 1088

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


  • Session: 2002-03
  • Date tabled: 28.04.2003
  • Primary sponsor: Foster, Don
  • Sponsors:

    That this House regrets the demise of Royal Mail's historic and unique underground railway in London known as Mail Rail, dedicated to the transportation of letters and parcels across 23 miles of track running from Paddington to Whitechapel; notes the valuable service that Mail Rail provided by delivering an average of four million letters per day between nine dedicated stations including two mainline railway stations and four sorting offices; further regrets that Mail Rail is no longer financially viable; urges all parties involved to ensure its mothballing does not result in additional lorry journeys, congestion and pollution on London's streets; and calls on the Government to consider the legislative changes necessary to enable alternative use of the system so that this important piece of infrastructure can continue to benefit the capital.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 49

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 49 out of 49

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Baker, Norman Liberal Democrats Lewes 11.06.2003
Barnes, Harry Labour Party North East Derbyshire 29.04.2003
Beith, Alan Liberal Democrats Berwick-Upon-Tweed 20.05.2003
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 13.05.2003
Breed, Colin Liberal Democrats South East Cornwall 19.05.2003
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 21.05.2003
Cable, Vincent Liberal Democrats Twickenham 29.04.2003
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 12.05.2003
Campbell, Menzies Liberal Democrats North East Fife 21.05.2003
Chidgey, David Liberal Democrats Eastleigh 20.05.2003
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 06.05.2003
Cotter, Brian Liberal Democrats Weston-super-Mare 07.05.2003
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 29.04.2003
Davey, Edward Liberal Democrats Kingston and Surbiton 29.04.2003
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 01.05.2003
Doughty, Sue Liberal Democrats Guildford 03.06.2003
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 19.05.2003
Foster, Don Liberal Democrats Bath 28.04.2003
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 30.04.2003
Green, Matthew Liberal Democrats Ludlow 03.06.2003
Griffiths, Jane Labour Party Reading East 07.05.2003
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 29.04.2003
Hermon, Lady Ulster Unionist Party North Down 06.05.2003
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 30.04.2003
Hughes, Simon Liberal Democrats North Southwark and Bermondsey 19.05.2003
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 30.04.2003
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 01.05.2003
Jones, Nigel Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 22.05.2003
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Meirionnydd Nant Conwy 12.05.2003
Marris, Rob Labour Party Wolverhampton South West 12.05.2003
Marsden, Paul Liberal Democrats Shrewsbury and Atcham 29.04.2003
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 06.05.2003
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 08.05.2003
Moore, Michael Liberal Democrats Tweeddale Ettrick and Lauderdale 21.05.2003
Morgan, Julie Labour Party Cardiff North 19.05.2003
Opik, Lembit Liberal Democrats Montgomeryshire 30.06.2003
Price, Adam Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 08.05.2003
Rendel, David Liberal Democrats Newbury 20.05.2003
Rosindell, Andrew Conservative Party Romford 16.06.2003
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 29.04.2003
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 19.05.2003
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 08.05.2003
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 19.05.2003
Thomas, Simon Plaid Cymru Ceredigion 30.04.2003
Tyler, Paul Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 30.04.2003
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 20.05.2003
Webb, Steve Liberal Democrats Northavon 19.05.2003
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 08.05.2003
Willis, Phil Liberal Democrats Harrogate and Knaresborough 04.06.2003