Early day motion 791

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


  • Session: 2001-02
  • Date tabled: 04.02.2002
  • Primary sponsor: Barrett, John
  • Sponsors:

    That this House notes the recent report of the Scottish Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals entitled 'Fireworks and Animals', which estimates that at least 8,000 animals received veterinary attention for problems directly related to fireworks in Scotland in 2001, that the duration of animals' exposure to firework stress and injury stretched far beyond 5th November, with some vets receiving cases as early as September and that in some cases, animals have had to be put down due to injury or stress associated with fireworks; is particularly disturbed by and condemns the cases of deliberate attacks on animals, including one reported episode where fireworks were let off in a car containing two dogs; agrees with the SSPCA's conclusions that the sale and use of fireworks should be restricted to a strict time window, which would allow pet owners to plan in advance and that people planning fireworks displays should be actively encouraged to consider the effects on neighbouring animals; and believes that this information only serves to back up the widespread feeling within the House that the sale and use of fireworks must be better regulated.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 112

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 112 out of 112

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Austin, John Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 24.09.2002
Banks, Tony Labour Party West Ham 05.02.2002
Barnes, Harry Labour Party North East Derbyshire 07.02.2002
Barrett, John Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 04.02.2002
Beggs, Roy Ulster Unionist Party East Antrim 07.02.2002
Best, Harold Labour Party Leeds North West 12.02.2002
Borrow, David S Labour Party South Ribble 07.02.2002
Brennan, Kevin Labour Party Cardiff West 04.02.2002
Brown, Russell Labour Party Dumfries 06.02.2002
Burnside, David Ulster Unionist Party South Antrim 25.02.2002
Burstow, Paul Liberal Democrats Sutton and Cheam 04.02.2002
Cable, Vincent Liberal Democrats Twickenham 05.02.2002
Calton, Patsy Liberal Democrats Cheadle 08.02.2002
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 06.02.2002
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 05.02.2002
Clapham, Michael Labour Party Barnsley West and Penistone 06.02.2002
Cohen, Harry Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 06.02.2002
Cook, Frank Labour Party Stockton North 04.02.2002
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 13.02.2002
Cox, Tom Labour Party Tooting 07.02.2002
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 25.02.2002
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 05.02.2002
Cryer, John Labour Party Hornchurch 25.02.2002
Cummings, John Labour Party Easington 06.02.2002
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 12.02.2002
Cunningham, Tony Labour Party Workington 05.02.2002
David, Wayne Labour Party Caerphilly 09.05.2002
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow Pollok 12.02.2002
Davis, Terry Labour Party Birmingham Hodge Hill 12.02.2002
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 08.03.2002
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 04.02.2002
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 07.03.2002
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 07.02.2002
Edwards, Huw Labour Party Monmouth 04.02.2002
Efford, Clive Labour Party Eltham 14.02.2002
Ennis, Jeff Labour Party Barnsley East and Mexborough 12.02.2002
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 14.02.2002
Ewing, Annabelle Scottish National Party Perth 06.02.2002
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 07.02.2002
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 14.03.2002
Galloway, George Labour Party Glasgow Kelvin 08.02.2002
Gardiner, Barry Labour Party Brent North 13.03.2002
Gerrard, Neil Labour Party Walthamstow 12.02.2002
Gidley, Sandra Liberal Democrats Romsey 04.02.2002
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Sparkbrook and Small Heath 04.03.2002
Griffiths, Jane Labour Party Reading East 14.02.2002
Griffiths, Win Labour Party Bridgend 05.02.2002
Hamilton, David Labour Party Midlothian 07.02.2002
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 12.02.2002
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 25.03.2002
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 11.02.2002
Hermon, Lady Ulster Unionist Party North Down 06.02.2002
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 27.02.2002
Hinchliffe, David Labour Party Wakefield 12.02.2002
Holmes, Paul Liberal Democrats Chesterfield 04.02.2002
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 06.02.2002
Hoyle, Lindsay Labour Party Chorley 05.02.2002
Iddon, Brian Labour Party Bolton South East 04.02.2002
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 04.02.2002
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Highgate 06.02.2002
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 04.03.2002
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 05.02.2002
Jones, Nigel Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 06.02.2002
Khabra, Piara S Labour Party Ealing Southall 07.02.2002
Kumar, Ashok Labour Party Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland 05.02.2002
Lepper, David Labour Party Brighton Pavilion 06.02.2002
Lewis, Terry Labour Party Worsley 06.02.2002
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 05.02.2002
Marsden, Paul Liberal Democrats Shrewsbury and Atcham 06.03.2002
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 14.03.2002
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 07.03.2002
McNamara, Kevin Labour Party Kingston upon Hull North 05.02.2002
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 12.02.2002
Moffatt, Laura Labour Party Crawley 12.02.2002
O'Hara, Edward Labour Party Knowsley South 06.02.2002
Olner, Bill Labour Party Nuneaton 04.02.2002
Palmer, Nick Labour Party Broxtowe 04.02.2002
Perham, Linda Labour Party Ilford North 26.02.2002
Pike, Peter L Labour Party Burnley 14.02.2002
Pope, Greg Labour Party Hyndburn 21.03.2002
Prentice, Gordon Labour Party Pendle 05.02.2002
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 14.02.2002
Rapson, Syd Labour Party Portsmouth North 12.02.2002
Reid, Alan Liberal Democrats Argyll and Bute 06.02.2002
Rendel, David Liberal Democrats Newbury 24.09.2002
Robertson, John Labour Party Glasgow Anniesland 04.02.2002
Rosindell, Andrew Conservative Party Romford 05.02.2002
Roy, Frank Labour Party Motherwell and Wishaw 25.02.2002
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 05.02.2002
Savidge, Malcolm Labour Party Aberdeen North 12.06.2002
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party West Renfrewshire 06.02.2002
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 07.03.2002
Singh, Marsha Labour Party Bradford West 13.06.2002
Smyth, Martin Ulster Unionist Party Belfast South 07.02.2002
Steinberg, Gerry Labour Party City of Durham 06.02.2002
Stewart, David Labour Party Inverness East Nairn and Lochaber 02.05.2002
Tami, Mark Labour Party Alyn and Deeside 25.02.2002
Truswell, Paul Labour Party Pudsey 13.03.2002
Turner, Dennis Labour Party Wolverhampton South East 12.02.2002
Tyler, Paul Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 07.02.2002
Tynan, Bill Labour Party Hamilton South 13.02.2002
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 13.02.2002
Wareing, Robert N Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 05.02.2002
Watson, Tom Labour Party West Bromwich East 04.02.2002
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 04.02.2002
White, Brian Labour Party North East Milton Keynes 25.02.2002
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 04.02.2002
Willis, Phil Liberal Democrats Harrogate and Knaresborough 07.02.2002
Wishart, Pete Scottish National Party North Tayside 11.02.2002
Worthington, Tony Labour Party Clydebank and Milngavie 07.02.2002
Wray, Jimmy Labour Party Glasgow Baillieston 14.02.2002
Younger-Ross, Richard Liberal Democrats Teignbridge 25.02.2002