Early day motion 418

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


  • Session: 2001-02
  • Date tabled: 14.11.2001
  • Primary sponsor: Jones, Martyn
  • Sponsors:

    That this House deplores the actions of Carlsberg-Tetley since it closed the Wrexham Lager Beer Company brewery in April 2000; condemns the procrastination and obfuscation on the part of Carlsberg-Tetley in 18 months of negotiations with the Wrexham Lager Phoenix Project's ambition to save the Wrexham Lager brand from extinction; notes the considerable strength of public support and pride in the Wrexham area towards its 118 year lager brewing heritage; notes the unwillingness of Carlsberg-Tetley to co-operate reasonably in saving Wrexham Lager; calls upon the Chairman of the Catering Committee of this House to withdraw Carlsberg lager, Tetley beer and all other beers brewed by Carlsberg-Tetley from sale in all bars in this House; urges honourable Members to support the boycott campaign of Carlsberg-Tetley in their own constituencies; invites all UK publicans where contractually possible, to support the boycott by refusing to stock Carlsberg-Tetley lagers and beers; and demands Carlsberg-Tetley enter into immediate, genuine and meaningful negotiations with the Wrexham Lager Phoenix Project and Wrexham County Borough Council over the use of the listed brewery building to house a small-scale heritage brewery which would maintain the 118 year old tradition of lager brewing which is presently being destroyed by Carlsberg-Tetley.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 72

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 72 out of 72

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Baird, Vera Labour Party Redcar 22.11.2001
Barnes, Harry Labour Party North East Derbyshire 15.11.2001
Barrett, John Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 29.11.2001
Best, Harold Labour Party Leeds North West 21.11.2001
Brennan, Kevin Labour Party Cardiff West 19.11.2001
Bryant, Chris Labour Party Rhondda 22.11.2001
Burgon, Colin Labour Party Elmet 21.11.2001
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 15.11.2001
CLARK, HELEN Labour Party Peterborough 22.11.2001
Clwyd, Ann Labour Party Cynon Valley 20.11.2001
Cohen, Harry Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 21.11.2001
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 15.11.2001
Cox, Tom Labour Party Tooting 22.11.2001
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 21.11.2001
David, Wayne Labour Party Caerphilly 21.11.2001
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 08.01.2002
Dhanda, Parmjit Labour Party Gloucester 22.11.2001
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 19.11.2001
Dobson, Frank Labour Party Holborn and St Pancras 21.11.2001
Edwards, Huw Labour Party Monmouth 19.11.2001
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 20.11.2001
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 21.11.2001
Griffiths, Win Labour Party Bridgend 22.11.2001
Hall, Patrick Labour Party Bedford 21.11.2001
Harris, Tom Labour Party Glasgow Cathcart 22.11.2001
Havard, Dai Labour Party Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney 21.11.2001
Hesford, Stephen Labour Party Wirral West 21.11.2001
Hoyle, Lindsay Labour Party Chorley 15.11.2001
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 15.11.2001
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 21.11.2001
Jones, Helen Labour Party Warrington North 21.11.2001
Jones, Jon Owen Labour Party Cardiff Central 21.11.2001
Jones, Kevan Labour Party North Durham 22.11.2001
Jones, Martyn Labour Party Clwyd South 14.11.2001
Kumar, Ashok Labour Party Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland 19.11.2001
Lawrence, Jackie Labour Party Preseli Pembrokeshire 19.11.2001
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 22.11.2001
Linton, Martin Labour Party Battersea 21.11.2001
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Meirionnydd Nant Conwy 15.11.2001
Lucas, Ian Labour Party Wrexham 14.11.2001
Luke, Iain Labour Party Dundee East 22.11.2001
Lyons, John Labour Party Strathkelvin and Bearsden 22.11.2001
Mahmood, Khalid Labour Party Birmingham Perry Barr 22.11.2001
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 21.11.2001
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 17.12.2001
McNamara, Kevin Labour Party Kingston upon Hull North 15.11.2001
McWilliam, John Labour Party Blaydon 10.01.2002
Opik, Lembit Liberal Democrats Montgomeryshire 21.11.2001
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 20.11.2001
Prentice, Gordon Labour Party Pendle 21.11.2001
Price, Adam Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 15.11.2001
Quin, Joyce Labour Party Gateshead East and Washington West 21.11.2001
Ruane, Chris Labour Party Vale of Clwyd 15.11.2001
Russell, Christine Labour Party City of Chester 21.11.2001
Savidge, Malcolm Labour Party Aberdeen North 21.11.2001
Sawford, Phil Labour Party Kettering 22.11.2001
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 18.12.2001
Smith, Geraldine Labour Party Morecambe and Lunesdale 21.11.2001
Smith, John P Labour Party Vale of Glamorgan 21.11.2001
Smith, Llew Labour Party Blaenau Gwent 21.11.2001
Stewart, David Labour Party Inverness East Nairn and Lochaber 21.11.2001
Stinchcombe, Paul Labour Party Wellingborough 22.11.2001
Strang, Gavin Labour Party Edinburgh East and Musselburgh 21.11.2001
Tami, Mark Labour Party Alyn and Deeside 21.11.2001
Taylor, David Labour Party North West Leicestershire 21.11.2001
Thomas, Gareth (Clwyd West) Labour Party Clwyd West 22.11.2001
Thomas, Simon Plaid Cymru Ceredigion 19.11.2001
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 30.11.2001
Watson, Tom Labour Party West Bromwich East 19.11.2001
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Caernarfon 16.11.2001
Worthington, Tony Labour Party Clydebank and Milngavie 21.11.2001
Wright, David Labour Party Telford 22.11.2001