Early day motion 1845

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


  • Session: 2001-02
  • Date tabled: 31.10.2002
  • Primary sponsor: Wright, Tony
  • Sponsors:

    That this House welcomes the proposal to establish a new select committee covering the work of the Lord Chancellor's Department and associated legal offices; believes that this closes a gap in the scrutiny of government; notes that, while its stated remit is clear, the proposed name unlike that of other departmental select committees is imprecise and ambiguous; believes 'Justice and Constitutional Affairs Committee' could be misleading to members of the public wishing to make representations; and asks the Government to undertake consultation before putting a revised motion to establish such a committee before the House.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 49

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 49 out of 49

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, Donald Labour Party Swansea East 31.10.2002
Baird, Vera Labour Party Redcar 05.11.2002
Barnes, Harry Labour Party North East Derbyshire 04.11.2002
Best, Harold Labour Party Leeds North West 04.11.2002
Brennan, Kevin Labour Party Cardiff West 31.10.2002
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 31.10.2002
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 06.11.2002
Chapman, Sydney Conservative Party Chipping Barnet 31.10.2002
Colman, Tony Labour Party Putney 06.11.2002
Cox, Tom Labour Party Tooting 06.11.2002
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 06.11.2002
Curry, David Conservative Party Skipton and Ripon 31.10.2002
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 07.11.2002
Dunwoody, Gwyneth Labour Party Crewe and Nantwich 31.10.2002
Edwards, Huw Labour Party Monmouth 06.11.2002
Gerrard, Neil Labour Party Walthamstow 07.11.2002
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 05.11.2002
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 31.10.2002
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 31.10.2002
Horam, John Conservative Party Orpington 31.10.2002
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 07.11.2002
Jones, Martyn Labour Party Clwyd South 31.10.2002
Knight, Greg Conservative Party Yorkshire East 06.11.2002
Kumar, Ashok Labour Party Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland 05.11.2002
Leigh, Edward Conservative Party Gainsborough 31.10.2002
Liddell-Grainger, Ian Conservative Party Bridgwater 31.10.2002
Lilley, Peter Conservative Party Hitchin and Harpenden 06.11.2002
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 07.11.2002
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 06.11.2002
McWalter, Tony Labour Party Hemel Hempstead 07.11.2002
O'Neill, Martin Labour Party Ochil 31.10.2002
Pope, Greg Labour Party Hyndburn 05.11.2002
Prentice, Gordon Labour Party Pendle 31.10.2002
Rapson, Syd Labour Party Portsmouth North 07.11.2002
Sheerman, Barry Labour Party Huddersfield 31.10.2002
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 05.11.2002
Spink, Bob Conservative Party Castle Point 05.11.2002
Taylor, David Labour Party North West Leicestershire 05.11.2002
Trend, Michael Conservative Party Windsor 31.10.2002
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 06.11.2002
White, Brian Labour Party North East Milton Keynes 31.10.2002
Williams, Alan Labour Party Swansea West 31.10.2002
Williams, Betty Labour Party Conwy 07.11.2002
Winterton, Ann Conservative Party Congleton 05.11.2002
Winterton, Ann Independent Conservative Congleton 05.11.2002
Winterton, Nicholas Conservative Party Macclesfield 31.10.2002
Wright, Tony Labour Party Cannock Chase 31.10.2002
Wyatt, Derek Labour Party Sittingbourne and Sheppey 04.11.2002
Young, George Conservative Party North West Hampshire 31.10.2002