Early day motion 1750

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


  • Session: 2001-02
  • Date tabled: 15.10.2002
  • Primary sponsor: Rosindell, Andrew
  • Sponsors:

    That this House is appalled by the tortuous and unspeakable conditions endured by thousands of bears kept in bear farms across China, where they are 'milked' for bile from their gall bladders that is used in traditional Chinese medicine, cosmetics and wine; recognises that there are many highly effective herbal and synthetic alternatives to bear bile available on the market; congratulates the World Society for the Protections of Animals on their campaign to highlight this issue; and calls on the Chinese Government to end this medieval practice.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 79

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 79 out of 79

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bailey, Adrian Labour Party West Bromwich West 24.10.2002
Baird, Vera Labour Party Redcar 04.11.2002
Baker, Norman Liberal Democrats Lewes 30.10.2002
Banks, Tony Labour Party West Ham 16.10.2002
Barnes, Harry Labour Party North East Derbyshire 17.10.2002
Barrett, John Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 07.11.2002
Beggs, Roy Ulster Unionist Party East Antrim 16.10.2002
Best, Harold Labour Party Leeds North West 29.10.2002
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 17.10.2002
Burstow, Paul Liberal Democrats Sutton and Cheam 23.10.2002
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 17.10.2002
CLARK, HELEN Labour Party Peterborough 15.10.2002
Cohen, Harry Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 22.10.2002
Colman, Tony Labour Party Putney 22.10.2002
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 16.10.2002
Cox, Tom Labour Party Tooting 17.10.2002
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 22.10.2002
Cryer, John Labour Party Hornchurch 21.10.2002
David, Wayne Labour Party Caerphilly 24.10.2002
Davis, Terry Labour Party Birmingham Hodge Hill 17.10.2002
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 17.10.2002
Dismore, Andrew Labour Party Hendon 22.10.2002
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 16.10.2002
Doughty, Sue Liberal Democrats Guildford 23.10.2002
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 23.10.2002
Ennis, Jeff Labour Party Barnsley East and Mexborough 04.11.2002
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 21.10.2002
Farrelly, Paul Labour Party Newcastle-under-Lyme 21.10.2002
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 21.10.2002
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 17.10.2002
Gerrard, Neil Labour Party Walthamstow 21.10.2002
Green, Matthew Liberal Democrats Ludlow 24.10.2002
Griffiths, Win Labour Party Bridgend 16.10.2002
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 16.10.2002
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 22.10.2002
Hermon, Lady Ulster Unionist Party North Down 16.10.2002
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 05.11.2002
Hoyle, Lindsay Labour Party Chorley 15.10.2002
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 23.10.2002
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Highgate 17.10.2002
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 16.10.2002
Jones, Nigel Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 16.10.2002
Keetch, Paul Liberal Democrats Hereford 23.10.2002
Lewis, Julian Conservative Party New Forest East 15.10.2002
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Meirionnydd Nant Conwy 23.10.2002
Loughton, Tim Conservative Party East Worthing and Shoreham 21.10.2002
Luff, Peter Conservative Party Mid Worcestershire 16.10.2002
Marris, Rob Labour Party Wolverhampton South West 17.10.2002
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 17.10.2002
Marsden, Paul Liberal Democrats Shrewsbury and Atcham 23.10.2002
Marshall, David Labour Party Glasgow Shettleston 22.10.2002
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 07.11.2002
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 06.11.2002
McNamara, Kevin Labour Party Kingston upon Hull North 23.10.2002
O'Hara, Edward Labour Party Knowsley South 16.10.2002
Palmer, Nick Labour Party Broxtowe 17.10.2002
Rapson, Syd Labour Party Portsmouth North 16.10.2002
Robinson, Iris Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 17.10.2002
Rosindell, Andrew Conservative Party Romford 15.10.2002
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 15.10.2002
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 17.10.2002
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party West Renfrewshire 16.10.2002
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 24.10.2002
Smyth, Martin Ulster Unionist Party Belfast South 15.10.2002
Spink, Bob Conservative Party Castle Point 23.10.2002
Steinberg, Gerry Labour Party City of Durham 17.10.2002
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Manchester Blackley 30.10.2002
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 22.10.2002
Tami, Mark Labour Party Alyn and Deeside 17.10.2002
Taylor, David Labour Party North West Leicestershire 16.10.2002
Tyler, Paul Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 17.10.2002
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 17.10.2002
Wareing, Robert N Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 16.10.2002
Watkinson, Angela Conservative Party Upminster 16.10.2002
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 16.10.2002
Winterton, Ann Conservative Party Congleton 17.10.2002
Winterton, Ann Independent Conservative Congleton 17.10.2002
Winterton, Nicholas Conservative Party Macclesfield 15.10.2002
Wishart, Pete Scottish National Party North Tayside 05.11.2002