Early day motion 1659

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


  • Session: 2001-02
  • Date tabled: 18.07.2002
  • Primary sponsor: Strang, Gavin
  • Sponsors:

    That this House expresses its concern at the sharp increase in violent attacks on bus workers; congratulates the Transport and General Workers' Union on its campaign to highlight this serious issue and believes that a high priority should be given to the issue of bus workers; personal safety; expresses concern that non-action in this respect could lead to bus services on more routes being withdrawn; and urges the Government to impose a firm legal requirement on operators to carry out risk assessments on violence to bus workers on the road as well as in garages, to allocate higher priority and more resources for police response to public transport attacks, to ensure that the maximum penalties are imposed for an assault on a bus worker and to improve compensation for front line public service staff.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 69

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 69 out of 69

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Austin, John Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 22.07.2002
Best, Harold Labour Party Leeds North West 23.07.2002
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield Attercliffe 18.07.2002
Borrow, David S Labour Party South Ribble 22.10.2002
Brennan, Kevin Labour Party Cardiff West 22.07.2002
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 23.07.2002
Cable, Vincent Liberal Democrats Twickenham 22.07.2002
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 24.07.2002
Clapham, Michael Labour Party Barnsley West and Penistone 24.07.2002
Clarke, Tony Labour Party Northampton South 05.11.2002
Cohen, Harry Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 24.07.2002
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Falkirk East 06.11.2002
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 24.07.2002
Cruddas, Jon Labour Party Dagenham 18.07.2002
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 23.07.2002
Cryer, John Labour Party Hornchurch 24.07.2002
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow Pollok 24.07.2002
Davis, Terry Labour Party Birmingham Hodge Hill 24.07.2002
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 24.07.2002
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 22.07.2002
Drew, David Labour Party Stroud 23.07.2002
Edwards, Huw Labour Party Monmouth 24.07.2002
Ennis, Jeff [R] Labour Party Barnsley East and Mexborough 24.07.2002
Etherington, Bill Labour Party Sunderland North 24.09.2002
Farrelly, Paul Labour Party Newcastle-under-Lyme 21.10.2002
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 23.07.2002
Gibson, Ian Labour Party Norwich North 22.07.2002
Griffiths, Win Labour Party Bridgend 24.07.2002
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 24.07.2002
Humble, Joan Labour Party Blackpool North and Fleetwood 18.07.2002
Illsley, Eric Labour Party Barnsley Central 24.07.2002
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 23.07.2002
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 19.07.2002
Jones, Nigel Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 24.07.2002
Lawrence, Jackie Labour Party Preseli Pembrokeshire 23.07.2002
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 23.07.2002
Lewis, Terry Labour Party Worsley 23.07.2002
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Meirionnydd Nant Conwy 24.07.2002
Lyons, John Labour Party Strathkelvin and Bearsden 23.07.2002
Macdonald, Calum Labour Party Western Isles 23.07.2002
Marris, Rob [R] Labour Party Wolverhampton South West 18.07.2002
Marsden, Paul Liberal Democrats Shrewsbury and Atcham 23.07.2002
Marshall, David [R] Labour Party Glasgow Shettleston 06.11.2002
Martlew, Eric Labour Party Carlisle 18.07.2002
McDonagh, Siobhain Labour Party Mitcham and Morden 07.11.2002
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 07.11.2002
McNamara, Kevin Labour Party Kingston upon Hull North 19.07.2002
McWalter, Tony Labour Party Hemel Hempstead 18.07.2002
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 23.07.2002
Munn, Meg Labour Party Sheffield Heeley 23.07.2002
Pike, Peter L Labour Party Burnley 24.07.2002
Price, Adam Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 07.11.2002
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 23.07.2002
Rapson, Syd Labour Party Portsmouth North 24.07.2002
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 22.07.2002
Salter, Martin Labour Party Reading West 24.07.2002
Sarwar, Mohammad Labour Party Glasgow Govan 15.10.2002
Savidge, Malcolm Labour Party Aberdeen North 18.07.2002
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party West Renfrewshire 18.07.2002
Simpson, Alan Labour Party Nottingham South 22.07.2002
Steinberg, Gerry Labour Party City of Durham 24.07.2002
Stevenson, George Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent South 24.09.2002
Strang, Gavin Labour Party Edinburgh East and Musselburgh 18.07.2002
Trickett, Jon Labour Party Hemsworth 24.07.2002
Truswell, Paul Labour Party Pudsey 30.10.2002
Tynan, Bill Labour Party Hamilton South 24.07.2002
Vis, Rudi Labour Party Finchley and Golders Green 23.07.2002
Wareing, Robert N Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 22.07.2002
Williams, Betty [R] Labour Party Conwy 24.07.2002