Northern Ireland Affairs Committee: Press Notices

Session 05-06

12 October 2006

Press Notice No 20



The Northern Ireland Affairs Committee has decided to conduct an inquiry into the draft Protocol for Community based Restorative Justice Schemes which was launched by the Government for public consultation, together with the equality impact assessment of the scheme, on 20th September 2006.

The Committee will wish to examine the provisions of the draft Protocol and the responses of interested parties to the Protocol. The Committee may also choose to examine other associated issues which arise in the course of the inquiry. The Committee expects to Report before Christmas.

The Committee wishes to invite any individual or organisation with an interest in this matter to submit written evidence. This should be addressed to the Clerk of the Northern Ireland Affairs Committee, 7 Millbank, House of Commons, London SW1P 3JA and should arrive by Friday 1 December 2006.

Individuals or organisations are requested to submit memoranda (guideline length up to six A4 pages) in a Word file on computer disk or by e-mail to [email protected] with a single additional hard copy in the post; those without access to a computer are respectfully requested to take particular care that submissions are legible. Written evidence submitted to the Committee should be kept confidential until published by the Committee.

NOTE FOR EDITORS: The Committee is appointed under Standing Order No. 152 of the House of Commons to examine the expenditure, administration and policy of the Northern Ireland Office and associated public bodies. It has the power to send for persons, papers and records.

The Committee Members are:- Sir Patrick Cormack, MP (Chairman) (Conservative, South Staffordshire), Mr David Anderson, MP (Labour, Blaydon), Gordon Banks, MP (Labour, Ochil and South Perthshire), Mr Gregory Campbell, MP (Democratic Unionist Party, East Londonderry), Rosie Cooper, MP (Labour, West Lancashire), Mr Christopher Fraser, MP (Conservative, South West Norfolk), Mr John Grogan, MP (Labour, Selby), Mr Stephen Hepburn, MP (Labour, Jarrow), Lady Hermon, MP (Ulster Unionist Party, North Down), Meg Hillier, MP (Labour/Co-op, Hackney South and Shoreditch), Dr Alasdair McDonnell, MP (SDLP, Belfast South), Stephen Pound, MP (Labour, Ealing North), Sammy Wilson, MP (Democratic Unionist Party, East Antrim)