Justice Committee: Press Notices

Press notice No. 59 of Session 2008-09

29 October 2009 / For Immediate Release



The Committee will publish its recommendations on the future role of the prison officer at 00.01am on Tuesday 3 November.

The oral evidence taken during this inquiry and the substance of the e-consultation held, are available online via the Committee’s website.

The Report, Role of the prison officer, will be published as the Committee’s Twelfth Report of 2008-09, HC 361, on Tuesday 3 November 2009  at 00.01am. Copies may be obtained from the Parliamentary Bookshop and the Stationery Office (details below) and the text will be available via the Committee’s website, www.parliament.uk/justicecom.

1. Committee membership is as follows: Rt Hon Sir Alan Beith MP (Chairman), Mr David Heath MP, Rt Hon Douglas Hogg MP, Siân James MP, Jessica Morden MP, Julie Morgan MP, Rt Hon Alun Michael MP, Robert Neill MP, Dr Nick Palmer MP, Linda Riordan MP, Virendra Sharma MP, Mr Andrew Turner MP, Mr Andrew Tyrie MP and Dr Alan Whitehead MP.

Further Information:
Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges Palmer (020 7219 0724) email: [email protected]

Specific Committee Information: Tel 020 7219 8196/ 8198, email: [email protected]

Committee Website:  www.parliament.uk/justicecom

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: www.parliamentlive.tv

Select Committee Calendar: www.parliament.uk/what_s_on/hoc_news3.cfm

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on www.parliament.uk