Press Notice 12, Session 2004-05

Darfur, Sudan: Crisis, Response and Lessons

Jan Egeland, United Nations Under-Secretary-General for Humanitarian Affairs and Emergency Relief Coordinator to appear before International Development Committee

The International Development Committee agreed to conduct an inquiry - announced in a press notice dated 16 September (PN41.2003-04) - into the ongoing crisis in Darfur. The Committee is pleased to announce that the following evidence session has now been arranged. This is the fourth oral evidence session to be held by the Committee as part of this inquiry. The focus of the session will be the humanitarian response to the crisis in Darfur, and in particular the role played by UN agencies: what needs to be done now, how effective has the response been so far, and what lessons need to be learnt?

This session also offers an opportunity for the Committee to question Mr Egeland about the United Nations’ response to the Asian Tsunami disaster.

Date, Time and venue


3.00 p.m. Wednesday 9 February  2005, Palace of Westminster or Portcullis House (tbc)

Jan Egeland, United Nations Under-Secretary-General for Humanitarian Affairs and Emergency Relief Coordinator

Please note that starting times may be subject to late changes. Those wishing to attend either of these sessions should contact the Committee Office Information Line on 020 7219 2033 to confirm the venue the day before the hearing, or please have a look at the ‘Future meetings’ section of our website, nearer the day of the meeting.

Darfur, Sudan: Crisis, Response and Lessons: In conducting this inquiry, the Committee aims to promote understanding of the situation in Darfur, to examine the effectiveness of the international community’s response to the crisis and promote a more effective response, and to ensure that once the immediate crisis is over, the international community remains engaged and learns the lessons of Darfur.

The Committee will consider the role that the UK Government has played in responding to the crisis, but the inquiry will also examine the roles played by NGOs, the EU and other donors, the United Nations, the African Union, the Government of Sudan and other groups active within Darfur.


Further Information:

The membership of the Committee is as follows: Tony Baldry (Chairman) (Conservative), John Barrett (Liberal Democrat), Mr John Battle (Labour), Hugh Bayley (Labour), Mr John Bercow (Conservative), Ann Clwyd (Labour), Mr Tony Colman (Labour), Mr Quentin Davies (Conservative); Mr Piara S. Khabra (Labour), Chris McCafferty (Labour), and Tony Worthington (Labour).

Media Enquiries: Adele Brown, 020 7219 0724 or [email protected]

Committee website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications/Reports/Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge Street, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845  7023474)