Home Affairs Committee Press Notice


The following evidence session has been arranged as part of the above inquiry:

Date and Time: Tuesday 23 January 2007 at 10.15 a.m.

Inquiry: Justice and Home Affairs Issues at European Union Level

Witnesses: Mr Mike Kennedy, President, Eurojust, and Mr Tim Workman, Senior District Magistrate, City of Westminster Magistrate Court; to be followed at approximately 11.15 a.m. by Professor Steve Peers, Human Rights Centre, University of Essex, Mr David Smith, Deputy Information Commissioner, and Mr Lee Taylor, Guidance and Promotion Manager, Information Commission, and Ms Belinda Lewis and Ms Harriet Nowell-Smith, Department for Constitutional Affairs.

Location (tbc): Wilson Room, Portcullis House, London SW1

The sessions will be open to the public on a first come, first served basis. There is no system for the prior reservation of seats in Committee Rooms. It is advisable to allow about 20 minutes to pass through security checks. Committee rooms are subject to change: those interested in attending the session should check the Committee Information Line on 020 7219 2033 a few days before the meeting.

Details of this inquiry were set out in a press notice issued on 1 November 2006

Note to editors: The Committee membership is as follows:

Rt Hon John Denham (Chairman) (Lab) (Southampton Itchen)
Mr Richard Benyon (Con) (Newbury)
Mr Jeremy Browne (Lib Dem) (Taunton)
Ms Karen Buck (Lab) (Regent's Park & Kensington North)
Mr James Clappison (Con) (Hertsmere)
Mrs Ann Cryer (Lab) (Keighley)
Mrs Janet Dean (Lab) (Burton)
Margaret Moran (Lab) (Luton South)
Gwyn Prosser (Lab) (Dover)
Bob Russell (Lib Dem) (Colchester)
Martin Salter (Lab) (Reading West)
Mr Richard Spring (Con) (West Suffolk)
Mr Gary Streeter (Con) (South West Devon)
Mr David Winnick (Lab) (Walsall North)


Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges Palmer, Tel 020 7219 0724, email: [email protected]

Specific Committee Information: Tel 020 7219 3276, email: [email protected]

Committee Website: http://www.parliament.uk/homeaffairscom

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online: www.parliamentlive.tv

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on www.parliament.uk