Foreign Affairs Committee: Press Notice

17 May 2007

Global Security: Iran

The Foreign Affairs Committee will hold its second oral evidence session on its inquiry into 'Global Security: Iran' on Wednesday 23 May 2007. The Terms of Reference of the inquiry can be found on the Committee's website. Evidence will be heard from the following witnesses:

3.00 pm Dr Ali Ansari, University of St Andrews, and

Dr Frank Barnaby, Oxford Research Group.

4.00 pm Lord Triesman of Tottenham, Minister of State, Foreign and Commonwealth Office.

The meeting is scheduled to take place in Committee Room 15, Committee Corridor, House of Commons. Members of the public are welcome to attend and should confirm the venue by contacting the House of Commons Public Information Office (Tel: 020 7219 4272) on the day before the meeting.

The Committee welcomes written memoranda for this inquiry. Interested parties should submit their evidence either in hard copy to the above address or, preferably, by e-mail to: indicating clearly the sender's name and address. Questions on the session or on the submission of evidence should be directed to the Committee Specialist (Tel: 020 7219 3613).

Further Information:

1.The Foreign Affairs Committee is responsible for scrutinising the "administration, expenditure and policy" of the Foreign and Commonwealth Office and its associated agencies. The text of all Committee publications, including Reports, can be found on the Committee's website at

2. Committee meetings are open to the public. Access is via St Stephen's Entrance for the House of Commons Committee Rooms and the main entrance on the Thames Embankment for Portcullis House Rooms. It is advisable to allow about 10 minutes to pass through security checks. There is no system for the prior reservation of seats in the Committee Rooms.

The membership of the Committee is as follows: Mike Gapes (Chairman), Labour, Mr Fabian Hamilton, Labour, Mr David Heathcoat-Amory, Conservative, Mr John Horam, Conservative, Mr Eric Illsley, Labour, Mr Paul Keetch, Liberal Democrats, Andrew Mackinlay, Labour, Mr Malcolm Moss, Conservative, Sandra Osborne, Labour, Mr Greg Pope, Labour, Mr Ken Purchase, Labour, Rt Hon Sir John Stanley, Conservative, Ms Gisela Stuart, Labour, Richard Younger-Ross, Liberal Democrats.

Specific Committee Information: Tel 020 7219 6394, email -

Media Enquiries: Alex Paterson, Tel 020 7219 1589, 07917 488 488 email -

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on