Constitutional Affairs Committee

Press Notice No 6 of Session 2006-07, 25 January 2007

Announcement of evidence session: Implementation of the Carter Review of Legal Aid

The Committee will hold the third evidence session in its inquiry into the implementation of the Carter Review of Legal Aid on Tuesday 30 January. Details as follows:

At 4.15pm: Legal Action Group; Advice Services Alliance

At approx. 5.15 pm: Resolution; Mental Health Lawyers Association; Roy Morgan (Morgans Solicitors); David Jockelson (Miles and Partners)


1. The full terms of reference for this inquiry are available at:

2. The DCA's A Fairer Deal for Legal Aid is available on the Department for Constitutional Affairs website:

Lord Carter's Review of Legal Aid Procurement is available at

2. Committee Membership is as follows: Rt Hon Alan Beith MP (Chairman), David Howarth MP, Siân James MP, Mr Piara S Khabra MP, Jessica Morden MP, Julie Morgan MP, Robert Neill MP, Mr Andrew Tyrie MP, Rt Hon Keith Vaz MP, Dr Alan Whitehead MP, Jeremy Wright MP

Further Information:

Media Enquiries: Jessica Bridges Palmer 020 7219 0724 email: [email protected]

Specific Committee Information: Tel 020 7219 8196/ 8198, email: [email protected]

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Select Committee Calendar:

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on