Of the six appointed members, one is a Member of the House of Commons who is a Minister with responsibilities in relation to local government. This appointment is made by the Prime Minister. The other five appointed members are Members of the House of Commons who are not Ministers and are appointed by the Speaker.

Appointed members serve for the full length of the Parliament, unless they cease to be Members of the House, resign from the Committee, or another member is appointed in their place. They may be reappointed.

Ex officio members

Appointed members
Appointed by the Speaker

Member Party
John Bercow Speaker
Mr Bernard Jenkin Conservative
Sir Gerald Kaufman Labour
Jessica Morden Labour
Bridget Phillipson Labour
Mr Gary Streeter Conservative
Pete Wishart Scottish National Party