Ecclesiastical Committee

The Ecclesiastical Committee is a statutory committee appointed under the Church of England Assembly (Powers) Act 1919.

The Committee comprises thirty members, fifteen of whom are Members of Parliament appointed by Mr. Speaker and fifteen of whom are members of the House of Lords, appointed by the Lord Speaker.

Appointments to the committee are generally made early in a Parliament. Members ordinarily remain on the Committee for the life of the Parliament.

While the powers of the Committee are laid down by the Act, its procedures are broadly those of a Joint Select Committee.

It will generally ask members of the General Synod to assist it in its deliberations. In some circumstances a conference of the Ecclesiastical Committee and the Legislative Committee may be convened.

Committee news

What's on

Date Business

No business announced