Communications Committee - membership

The Members of the Committee were appointed on 25 May 2016. The Committee ceased to exist upon the dissolution of Parliament on 3 May 2017, and will not be reappointed until early in the new Parliament.

Member Affiliation
Lord Best (Chairman) Crossbench
Lord Allen of Kensington Labour
Baroness Benjamin Liberal Democrat
Baroness Bonham-Carter of Yarnbury Liberal Democrat
Earl of Caithness Conservative
Bishop of Chelmsford Bishops
Lord Gilbert of Panteg Conservative
Lord Hart of Chilton Labour
Baroness Kidron Crossbench
Baroness McIntosh of Hudnall Labour
Baroness Quin Labour
Lord Sheikh Conservative
Lord Sherbourne of Didsbury Conservative

Related information

Register of Lords' Interests

Committee members are required to register any financial and non-financial interests that a reasonable member of the public might think would influence their actions in Parliament.

How does the Register of Lords' Interests work?

The Code of Conduct for Members of the House of Lords was adopted on 30 November 2009 and amended on 30 March 2010, 12 June 2014 and 25 February 2016.