Citizenship and Civic Engagement Committee - timeline


The Citizenship and Civic Engagement Committee was appointed on 29 June 2017.




Tuesday 4 July

The Committee met in private


Wednesday 12 July

The Committee met in private


Wednesday 19 July

The Committee met in private


Public Evidence Sessions


Wednesday 6th September

At 10.40am

  • Hardip Begol, Director, Integration and Faith Division, Department for Communities and Local Government
  • Paul Morrison, Director, Resettlement, Asylum Support and Integration, Home Office
  • David Rossington, Director, Office for Civil Society, Department for Culture, Media and Sport
  • Ann Gross, Director of Special Needs, Disadvantage and Character Policy, Department for Education


Wednesday 13th September

At 10.40am

  • Dr Jill Rutter, Director of Strategy and Relationships, British Future
  • Dr Muhammad Abdul Bari, former General Secretary of the Muslim Council of Britain
  • David Goodhart, Head of the Integration Hub at Policy Exchange

At 11.30am

  • Matteo Bergamini, Founder and Director, Shout Out UK
  • Michael Sani, Chief Executive, Bite the Ballot
  • Professor Jon Tonge, Professor of Politics at the University of Liverpool
  • Ashok Viswanathan, Deputy Director, Operation Black Vote


Wednesday 11th October

At 10.40am

  • Dr Rania Marandos, Chief Executive, Step Up to Serve (government funded initiative to increase social action by young people)
  • Michael Lynas, Chief Executive, The National Citizen Service Trust
  • Matt Hyde, Chief Executive, The Scout Association

At 11.30am

  • Dr Andrew Mycock, Reader in Politics, University of Huddersfield
  • Dr Sarah Mills, Loughborough University
  • Oliver Lee, Chief Executive, The Challenge


Wednesday 18th October

At 11.30am

  • Dr Avril Keating, Senior Lecturer in Comparative Social Science, UCL Institute of Education
  • Liz Moorse, Chief Executive, Association for Citizenship Teaching (ACT)
  • Tom Franklin, CEO, Citizenship Foundation
  • James Weinberg, University of Sheffield


Wednesday 25th October

At 10.40am

  • Saskia Marsh, Adviser to the Citizens Commission on Islam, Participation and Public Life (The Missing Muslims)
  • Dr Therese O’Toole, University of Bristol
  • Hifsa Haroon-Iqbal, Prevent Practitioner

At 11.30am

  • Dr Khursheed Wadia, Muslim Women’s Network UK
  • Nazir Afzal, former Chief Crown Prosecutor for North West England
  • Dr Line Nyhagen, Loughborough University

The Committee visited Westminster City Hall to see a Citizenship Ceremony


Tuesday 31st October

The Committee visited Clacton-on-Sea to hear the views of local people


Wednesday 1st November

At 10.40am

  • Sean Harford, National Director for Education, Ofsted
  • Scott Harrison, Ex Ofsted representative on the Citizenship Advisory Group chaired by Sir Bernard Crick, Chair of Trustees for ACT
  • Ryan Mason, Assistant Head Teacher at Addey and Stanhope School, Lewisham

At 11.40am

  • Philip Connolly, Policy and Development Manager, Disability Rights UK
  • Fazilet Hadi, Deputy Chief Executive and Director of Advocacy, RNIB
  • Angela Kitching, Head of External Affairs, Age UK
  • Dan Jones, Director of Innovation and Change, Centre for Ageing Better


Wednesday 15 November

At 10.40 a.m:

  • Sir Stuart Etherington, Chief Executive, NCVO
  • Neil Jameson, Citizens UK
  • Matthew Bolton, Civil Society Futures 

At 11.30 a.m:

  • Patrick Murray, Head of Policy & External Affairs, New Philanthropy Capital
  • Dawn Austwick, Chief Executive, Big Lottery Fund
  • Sir John Low, Chief Executive, Charities Aid Foundation


Thursday 16 November 

The Committee visited Sheffield to take evidence from local councillors, community leaders, and educators


Wednesday 22 November

At 10.30am

  • Ms Fiona Wilson, Head of Research and Economics, USDAW
  • Ms Katerina Rudiger, Chief Community Officer, CIPD

At 11.30am

  • Rt Rev Richard Atkinson, Inter Faith Network

At 12pm

  • Lord Phillips of Sudbury

Wednesday 29 November

At 10.30am

  • Dr Henry Tam
  • Councillor Saima Ashraf, Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member for Community Leadership and Engagement, London Borough of Barking and Dagenham
  • Mr Stuart Dunne, Deputy Chief Executive, Youth Focus North-West

At 11.30am

  • Mira Turnsek, Senior Official, German Federal Ministry for Family Affairs

At 3.00pm

The Committee held an informal discussion with young people from a variety of organisations to hear their views


Tuesday 5 December

At 3.00pm

  • Dame Louise Casey


Wednesday 6 December

At 10.30am

  • Chief Rabbi Ephraim Mirvis
  • His Eminence Cardinal Vincent Nichols

At 11.30am

  • Dr Maria Sobolewska, University of Manchester
  • Dr Leah Bassel, University of Leicester
  • Mr Matthew Ryder, Deputy Mayor for Social Integration


Wednesday 13 December

At 10:30am:

  • Tracey Crouch MP, Minister for Sport and Civil Society, DMCS
  • Lord Bourne of Aberystwyth, Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State, DCLG
  • Rt Hon Nick Gibb MP, Minister of State for School Standards, DfE
  • Rt Hon Brandon Lewis MP, Minister of State for Immigration, Home Office

Image: iStockphotos