Joint Committee on the National Security Strategy - membership

The members of the Committee were appointed on 16 May 2013

Member Party
Margaret Beckett (Chair) Labour
Mr Adrian Bailey Labour (Co-op)
Sir Alan Beith Liberal Democrat
Lord Boateng Labour
Sir Malcolm Bruce Liberal Democrat
Lord Clark of Windermere Labour
Baroness Falkner of Margravine Liberal Democrat
Lord Forsyth of Drumlean Conservative
Fabian Hamilton Labour
Lord Levene of Portsoken Crossbench
Lord MacGregor of Pulham Market Conservative
Lord Mitchell Labour
Paul Murphy Labour
Baroness Neville-Jones Conservative
Sir Richard Ottaway Conservative
Mark Pritchard Conservative
Lord Ramsbotham Crossbench
Sir Malcolm Rifkind Independent
Rory Stewart Conservative
Keith Vaz Labour
Lord West of Spithead Labour
Mr Tim Yeo Conservative

Committee Bulletin

House of Lords Committee Bulletin

The House of Lords Committee Office publishes a daily bulletin detailing current inquiries, upcoming meetings, published reports and contact information.

Commons committee calendar

Advance information about all public committee meetings, publication dates of reports and debates.

Committees at work

Public committee sessions are open to everyone. Find out more information about how to attend these meetings:

First Review of the National Security Strategy 2010

The Committee’s first report “First Review of the National Security Strategy 2010”  introduces the work of Committee, and sets out what the National Security Strategy is, how it was produced, and how the Committee would like to see it developed. It also explains other aspects of Government decision making on national security; what the National Security Adviser does; what the National Security Council does; and how the Committee thinks it could be improved.