Transport Committee

Airports National Policy Statement (NPS) inquiry

Inquiry status: open - accepting written submissions

Deadline for written submissions was Thursday 30 November 2017.


Scope of the inquiry

We are launching an inquiry into the revised proposal for an NPS tabled by the Government on 24 October. We will draw on the evidence submitted during the previous Transport Select Committee inquiry and there is no need for anyone to resubmit evidence previously submitted to our predecessors. However, the Committee welcomes further submissions from those that have previously submitted evidence or new submissions addressing the points set out above.

Submit your views

The Committee would like to receive submissions from stakeholders based on the latest round of consultation launched by the Government on the 24 October 2017. The Committee is particularly interested in receiving submissions on:

  •  Whether the revised passenger demand forecasts and air quality assessments have been satisfactorily completed and are represented accurately in the final version of the NPS and Appraisal of Sustainability; and
  • Whether any other changes to the NPS based on clarity intention and/or Government policy since February 2017 are suitable
Terms of reference: Airports National Policy Statement (NPS)

Latest evidence

  • 04 Dec 2017 - Airports NPS - oral evidence | PDF version (PDF375 KB) HC 548 | Published 07 Dec 2017

    Evidence given by Philip Graham, Chief Executive, National Infrastructure Commission, Caroline Low, Director, Aviation Capacity Delivery, Department for Transport, Dennis Morgan, Head of Aviation Capacity Economics Team, Department for TransportNick Dunn, Chief Financial Officer, Gatwick Airport, Captain Jock Lowe, Director, Heathrow Hub Ltd

Next meeting(s)

18 December 2017 4:45 pm

Oral Evidence Session

Airports NPS
View details

Tim Hawkins, Corporate Affairs Director, Manchester Airports Group
Neil Pakey, Chairman, Regional and Business Airports Group
Rafael Schvartzman, Regional Vice President Europe, IATA
Professor Helen Apsimon, Professor of Air Pollution Studies, Imperial College London
The Rt Hon The Lord Deben, Chairman, Committee on Climate Change
Professor Piers Forster, Professor of Physical Climate Change, University of Leeds
Cait Hewitt, Deputy Director, Aviation Enviroment Federation


The Grimond Room, Portcullis House


Receive RSS updates

Share this page