Risk perception and energy infrastructure

The Committee agreed on 9 November 2011 to launch a new inquiry examining risk perception and energy infrastructure.

Terms of Reference

Risk perception and energy infrastructure inquiry terms of reference.

Oral evidence (uncorrected)

19 March 2012
Charles Hendry MP, Minister of State for Energy, Professor David MacKay, Chief Scientific Adviser, Hergen Haye, Head of New Nuclear, Department of Energy and Climate Change

Wednesday 1 February 2012
Dr Paul Leinster, Chief Executive, Environment Agency, Dr Jill Meara, Deputy Director of the Centre for Radiation, Chemical and Environmental Hazards, Health Protection Agency, Geoffrey Podger, Chief Executive, Health and Safety Executive, and Dr Mike Weightman, HM Chief Inspector of Nuclear Installations and Executive Head of the Office for Nuclear Regulation

Wednesday 25 January 2012
Tracey Brown, Managing Director, Sense about Science, Fiona Fox, Director, Science Media Centre, and Mark Henderson, former Science Editor, The Times; Bob Brown, Corporate Director, Sedgemoor District Council, Richard Mayson, Director of Planning and External Affairs for Nuclear New Build, EDF Energy, and Dr Rick Wylie, Executive Director, Applied Policy Sciences Unit, University of Central Lancashire

Wednesday 18 January 2012
Andrew Bloodworth, Head of Science - Minerals and Waste, British Geological Survey, Professor Nick Pidgeon, Director of Understanding Risk Programme, Cardiff University, and Professor David Spiegelhalter, Royal Statistical Society

Written evidence

The Committee invited written submissions on the terms of reference by 14 December 2011.