Justice Committee - membership

The members of the Committee were appointed on 12 July 2010.

Please note: Mr Brine has been appointed Parliamentary Private Secretary to Rt Hon Mike Penning MP, Minister for Policing, Criminal Justice and Victims, and as a result is playing no part in Committee activities pending the House agreeing a motion to replace him as a member of the Committee.

Member Party
Sir Alan Beith (Chair) Liberal Democrat
Steve Brine Conservative
Rehman Chishti Conservative
Mr Christopher Chope Conservative
Jeremy Corbyn Labour
John Cryer Labour
Nick de Bois Conservative
John Howell Conservative
Mr Elfyn Llwyd Plaid Cymru
Andy McDonald Labour
John McDonnell Labour
Yasmin Qureshi Labour

Related information

What do Select Committees do?

Much of the work of the House of Commons and the House of Lords takes place in committees, which examine issues in detail, from government policy to proposed new laws.

Guide for witnesses

Detailed guidance for individuals and organisations giving written or oral evidence to House of Commons Select Committees.

Watch committees

Committees, made up of MPs or Lords, examine issues in detail such as new legislation or topics like the economy. Watch democracy in action by attending a public committee session.