Mr Clive Betts MP

Mr Clive Betts MP


Sheffield South East



Address as

Mr Betts

Contact details


First Floor, Barkers Pool House, Burgess Street, Sheffield, S1 2HF
Tel: 0114 275 7788


House of Commons, London, SW1A 0AA
Tel: 020 7219 5114
Fax: 020 7219 2289

Web & Social media


Electoral history

Post Date
Member for Sheffield South East 2015-
Member for Sheffield South East 2010-15
Member for Sheffield, Attercliffe 1992-10
Contested Louth General Election 1979
Contested Sheffield, Hallam General Election 1974

Parliamentary career

Post Date
Lord Commissioner (HM Treasury) (Whip) 1998-01
Assistant Whip (HM Treasury) 1997-98
Opposition Whip (Commons) 1996-97

Select committees

Post House Date
Communities and Local Government Committee (Chair) Commons 2015-
Communities and Local Government Committee Commons 2015-
National Policy Statements Sub-Committee Commons 2010-15
Liaison Committee (Commons) Commons 2010-15
Committee on Reform of the House of Commons Commons 2009-10
Yorkshire and the Humber Regional Select Committee Commons 2009-10
Panel of Chairs Commons 2009-
Communities and Local Government Committee (Chair) Commons 2010-15
Communities and Local Government Committee Commons 2006-15
Finance and Services Committee Commons 2005-15
Urban Affairs Sub-committee Commons 2002-05
Office of the Deputy Prime Minister: Housing, Planning, Local Government and the Regions Committee Commons 2002-06
Urban Affairs Sub-Committee Commons 2001-02
Transport, Local Government & The Regions Commons 2001-02
Committee of Selection Commons 1997-01
Treasury Committee Commons 1995-96
Treasury & Civil Service Commons 1995-96

Political interests

Local and regional government, housing, planning, regeneration, transport, sport

Countries of interest

Bosnia, Iran, Middle East, Netherlands, Serbia, Ukraine, Portugal


General Election 2015 General Election - Sheffield South East

Name Party Votes Share Change
Clive Betts Lab 21439 51.43% 2.7%
Steve Winstone UKIP 9128 21.90% 17.3%
Matt Sleat Con 7242 17.37% -0.0%
Gail Smith LD 2226 5.34% -18.0%
Linda Duckenfield Green 1117 2.68%
Jen Battersby CISTAP 207 0.50%
Ian Whitehouse TUSC 185 0.44%
Matthew Roberts Eng Dem 141 0.34%
Majority 12311 29.53%
Turnout 41685 59.19%
Electorate 70422
Result Lab Hold

See Briefing Papers General Election 2015 for detailed results.

View the Commons Library elections site for detailed analysis of election data.