Result of the Private Members' Bill ballot: Session 2013-14

The 20 successful MPs are given priority in presenting a Bill of their choice and putting it down for second reading on one of the Private Members' Bills Fridays.

The Bills of the MPs successful in the ballot are formally presented in the House on the fifth sitting Wednesday of a session, 19 June 2013. In general, only the titles of the Bills are known at this stage, the texts may not appear in print until some time after this date.

The Private Members' Bills ballot for the 2013-14 session took place on Thursday 16 May 2013.

Ballot Results

The 20 MPs successful in the ballot were as follows:

1.  James Wharton (Con)

2.  Paul Blomfield (Lab)

3.  Jonathan Lord (Con)

4.  Sheryll Murray (Con)

5.  Dan Byles (Con)

6.  Sir Alan Meale (Lab)

7.  Andrew Gwynne (Lab)

8.  Karl McCartney (Con)

9.  Sir Robert Smith (LD)

10. Graham Evans (Con)

11. Mike Crockart (LD)

12. Justin Tomlinson (Con)

13. Mark Williams (LD)

14. Sir Malcom Bruce (LD)

15. Caroline Spelman (Con)

16. Andrew Selous (Con)

17. Margot James (Con)

18. William Cash (Con)

19. Michael Meacher (Lab)

20. Dr Matthew Offord (Con)

Sitting Fridays 2013-14

For information on when the House of Commons will sit on Fridays in the 2013-14 session to consider Private Members' Bills see:

Related information

For information on the progress of Private Members' Bills, including ballot Bills

For information on Private Members' Bill procedure and practice:

Related information

House of Commons Information Office

Contact details


The HCIO produces a number of publications that include:

House of Commons on Twitter

Follow @HouseofCommons for updates on the UK House of Commons Chamber.